Geeks logo

Jumanji (1995) - A Movie Review

'Jumanji' will forever be an iconic film.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Beware the game of Jumanji. Roll the dice, and you could end up stuck in the game.

Twenty-five years ago, Jumanji hit theaters. Discovering a board game that holds dark powers, Allan Parish is freed after being trapped in the game for over two decades. In order for everything to go back to normal, the quartet must play Jumanji, inevitably releasing dangers into the world.

As a kid, I loved the movie Jumanji. Even when it is on now I always watch it because, well, like the game, you can’t help it. The film has a great story, the acting is wonderful, and I believe that it has an important message about courage. Jumanji will forever be an iconic film.

This is one of my favorite Robin Williams roles. Allan Parrish has been stuck in the world of the game for most of his life. Williams was a fantastic comedian, but he also delivered serious emotion very well. Williams will forever live on as legacy-making viewers believe in themselves through the impossible.

In my opinion, I think that Bonnie Hunt is an underrated actress. Hunt normally plays characters who keep everything together, but in her role as Sarah Whittle, she has been crumbling for years needing support from others. Williams and Hunt established remarkable interactions. My favorite moment will always be when they’re bickering.

Kirsten Dunst and Bradley Pierce were outstanding as Judy and Peter who are grieving a loss. Finding the game, they are more involved in the story than acting as tag-along children who just get in the way like how kids are sometimes used in films.

Judy and Peter used their own knowledge that they have acquired to lead the adults. I think that was one of my favorite aspects as a kid. They provide leadership, implementing a figure for kids to look up to when they are unsure of moments where they have to take charge.

Jumanji also includes the talents of Jonathan Hyde, Bebe Neuwirth, David Alan Grier, Patricia Clarkson and a whole ensemble of amazing individuals who performed as scared citizens running throughout the streets from all the chaos. Adam Hann-Byrd and Laura Bell Bundy deserve more recognition for their small roles as Young Allan and Young Sarah. They’re the ones who started the movie after all.

Aside from the characters and the great story, Jumanji would not be what it is without its pure CGI. The special effects, make-up, and animatronics have held up well over time. My favorite part will always be the stampede of animals trudging through the town.

Jumanji is a dark movie for kids. I will be honest and say that parts of it scared me. I think during one viewing I actually shut my ears because I was terrified of the beating drums whenever the game was making itself known. The film is stressful. The game releases many dangerous situations like a powerful storm, a stampede or ferocious animals, blood-thirsty mosquitoes and that’s not even half of it!

Joe Johnson brought out a movie that all generations have enjoyed. He brought a children’s story to life and deepened the imagination. His process on the story stood out to me because it is all about the ‘what if’. Johnson sold the unbelievable magic of this world, distributing a fun adventure for the whole family to enjoy.

Jumanji will forever stand out as an iconic movie. Robin Williams, you will never be forgotten. If you’re ever playing a board game, just be careful that you won’t be taken into the game. You will most likely be playing it for years.

review
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.