Geeks logo

'Joker'

“I just don’t want to feel so bad anymore”– Joker

By Shivani SinghPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

Joker as a villain has always been intriguing, mysterious, and a mischievous character. Right from his comic stories like The Killing Joke (1988) to his depictions in series and movies like Batman (1966), Batman (1989), The Dark Knight (2008), Gotham (2014), Suicide Squad (2016), and most recently Joker (2019), Joker’s character has been consistently cynical and hard to read through.

In this particular blog, I am going to try and shed some light on the 2019 Joker and spill some tea on personal interpretation and what I got out of this amazing portrayal.

Besides Joaquin Phoenix’s outstanding performance throughout the whole movie (I could see this guy on-screen pull off some craziness in reality), I was uncomfortable with how close the narrative was to our actuality. How there was a direct co-relation between the physical existence of humanity in this era, to the comparison outlined in the movie.

The bias, struggle, anger, prejudice, bigotry, intolerance, dogmatism and all synonymous factors have branched out like a tree through one cause at their root—lack of empathy. I watched the movie several times out of sheer amazement at first and then to dig in for deeper understanding.

As I walked out the theatre the last time I viewed the screening, I found myself questioning multiple things at once... personal choices and decisions topping the list. I was left with a feeling of guilt, wrongdoing and shame mixed with a sense of helplessness. I couldn’t put a word or definition around these emotions. I was mad at something... not knowing what that something was, was adding to my frustration. It made me feel like I was incapable of recognizing the fault. Eventually, a few hours of introspection... and I was able to pick a word to describe these emotions that came in waves—fear! It was pure fear.

The fear of being caught in the crossfire as a result of our unwillingness to act. I couldn’t decide if I resonated more with Thomas Wayne or Arthur Fleck. Was I a part of elite, unbothered, consumer or was I the struggling, angry, unworthy rat? Am I a part of the problem too?

It suddenly dawned upon me that “Joker” was not just a piece of art, rather a slap in the faces of the populations who consumed this movie as art. People like me who went in twice on an average to watch the movie to be able to get a better look at intricacies. People who booked tickets online and paid the added online convenience fee without a second thought. People who bought overpriced popcorn and drinks to enjoy and be comfortable during their screening. People who walk the streets every single day and pass by an Arthur Fleck without his glimpse even catching their peripheral vision. Sometimes even turning away.

We have built so many defenses around “us” in order to categorize “them” as not a part of our world. It’s their issue. It’s because of his own fault. She brought it upon herself. It’s not my problem. All of these sound like excuses.

As Joker rightly vents out on the Murray Franklin show, “Everybody is awful these days. It’s enough to make anyone crazy.“ Indeed! People these days are simply concerned about themselves. I mean, I get the point that you can’t go pouring out others’ cups if yours is empty. But who gets to decide whether or when it is full... when is it enough? Is it ever?

The transformation of Arthur Fleck to Joker is a merely the product of the world we live in. At the moment, people have simply forgotten the virtue of empathy. I don’t blame them. Even though most of us reading this have lived and will live a life of privilege, even luxury... we always are going through something that needs to be overcome. In that scenario, how do we spare being empathetic toward others? There simply isn’t enough empathy to go around anymore. Instead, there’s more pain and suffering.

The misbalance throws us off. Is it even worth trying at this point? Why should I be one to take this up? Not like I am getting paid to spread empathy around like confetti! And because this pain and suffering outdoes the empathy... we tend to latch on the pain and see and feel only that.

Besides, the fact is I want to be the one receiving empathy before anyone else. I have issues, problems, and tough times that I am going through. Empathize with me. The logic behind wanting to be someone who gets empathy is simple... we as humans enjoy being considered and thought about, some of us might even enjoy the victimization. But that itself is the major issue!

Mentally ill or not, I wouldn’t be wrong to say we all enjoy a little attention, to be taken care of, to be given a damn about... while still alive! We all deserve it!

However, once you genuinely understand that our reality is going through a crisis of empathy, getting into action follows naturally. Unfortunately due to our own strong act of differentiating between “us” and “them”, it is only going to be a herculean task to break these walls down. But the people who render the privilege of having privilege need to incline toward empathy and bring back order. Balance out the pain and suffering. Of course, the pain and suffering will still stick around, but there’ll also be enough empathy to absorb it.

Joker reveals and reminds us of the corrupt officials who cunningly take advantage of certain situations... or the media that exploits these situations to fuel their personal agendas. At this point and time in our world the intention of the movie to open our eyes, or to give us nightmares... is irrelevant!

It’s not just the Joker, cause it is getting crazier out there. However, when push comes to shove and the world is on fire, you either choose to be part of the solution by trying to do your best to put the fire out or watch the world burn down. The choice is yours!

“I’ll tell you what you get.

You get what you f**king deserve”

– Joker

movie
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.