Geeks logo

Inception Verses Shutter Island

Where would you rather be?

By Shanon NormanPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Artwork by Shanon Norman. "Conversations"

I am a fan of Leonardo DiCaprio and I've seen many films he has starred in. I don't care what they say about his talent or credits, I enjoy viewing the work he does. There are many roles he has taken on and some were praised and some were not. Two films that were not as acclaimed stuck in my mind and I was thinking how different these two films are: Shutter Island and Inception. Both films dig deep into the mind and perception of "reality" offering the film viewer various philosophies and strategies for coping with other people's viewpoints and ever-changing realities.

When I went to see the film Shutter Island at the movie theater, I went only because Leo was in it. I had no idea what the film was about. It held my attention and I was able to watch the entire movie in the theater. For a cigarette addict with anxiety, that's pretty good. It had some intense scenes. Scenes that may frighten some viewers, but for some reason I was more interested in the story over being frightened.

When I saw the film Inception, again I had no idea what to expect. This one gave me more of a "WOW' moment as I was stunned over and over again while viewing the film at the power of philosophy and the graphic effects it delivered. There were some moments of fear in regards to dealing with friendship and loyalty and romantic idealism; However, fear was not the central theme of the film.

I think comparing these two films is a very good way to understand the word "reality" because no matter how many times you look it up in the dictionary, the synonyms or brief examples can never satisfy one's confusion of the word. People were either horrified by the film "The Matrix" or thought it expressed another viewpoint of some group realities, and I think these two films starring DiCaprio are making the same point. Why have there been so many films on the theme of "reality"? Maybe because school is on the verge of ending? Maybe because no one likes the movement or the philosophy of the "realists"? Maybe because fantasy was more rewarding than "reality"? Or maybe the "realists" were never given an opportunity to express the "sunny side" of things? I'm not sure why we question "reality" so much, but in my adult life, it's been the most pressing question I've ever contended with.

Comparing "Shutter Island" to "Inception" I ask myself "Where would I rather be?" and after having watched both films the answer for me is easy: I'd rather be with the Inception group. The "Shutter Island" experience is just the experience of being made to feel shame, guilt, fear, pain, incarceration, insanity, anger, jealousy, and hopelessness. To be sent to "Shutter Island" is like being sent to hell. A great way to wear Dante's quote on a T-shirt, "ye who enter here, abandon all hope." I think I'll pass.

Whereas in the "Inception" experience it's about friendship, commitment, hope, aspiration, ambition, drive, ego, teamwork, and success. Even during the times when there is pressure and fear, they persist on their goals and they achieve. These films are polar opposites in my opinion. Yes, I'd much rather be with the "Inception" crew.

If you haven't seen the films and you're just honky dory with your perception or definition of reality, then I would not recommend them as they are more for fans of Leo's work, fans of philosophy and psychology, and those who are questioning the word "reality".

movie
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.