Geeks logo

If This was my TV Choice.

A selection of television shows,Great entertainment. By Kathleen J Merry.

By Kathleen MerryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
If This was my TV Choice.
Photo by Nicolas J Leclercq on Unsplash

Believe it or not, but I found myself last year watching several Chinese and South Korean television series.At first it was difficult ,watching and trying to read the subtitles,but I soon adjusted to them. I was fascinated by the costumes and , the superb acting. There was one television series I loved, the Good doctor.The actor who played the part was fabulous. I know there is an American version and , for those of you who have seen the series if, this was a series you liked ,then I recommend you watch the South Korean version, I actually preferred the South Korean version. Because I enjoyed it so much , I found myself watching other television series. I found it interesting to see the other countries, I was very surprised for example when I saw how modern South Korea was and, how beautiful.

The actors were exceptional and, in many of the television series ,it was lovely to see something I haven’t seen for a very long time. I am in my sixties and, I remember when things in the west,were more wholesome, respectful and clean. We have lost that. I was drawn to the respect and family traditions shown in these shows. The costumes are something else. Such beautiful designs and colours. In the eighties there was a television show called rich man poor man. I remember family and friends,we could not wait to get home to watch it. It was something we really looked forward too. I cannot say I have had many shows in the west,cause that same reaction . But there is one show, I think it has sixty three episodes called Ashes of Love.I loved it so much, I have watched all episodes not once but, three times.

If you like this,then you will also like, Ice fantasy.It is like Disney come to life,with fairy tale costumes. The story lines are excellent. The beautiful thing about all of these television series, they are all family orientated. With the current Lock down ,we have in many countries,families are spending more time with one another and, these shows would be suitable as well as enjoyable,for the whole family. With this lockdown people are not allowed to travel just now. These shows allow us to see their way of life. And even try some of it. I am thinking things like their food, I found myself going into some shops that sell international food And,buying their products to try, not always liking them but,getting to experience them. I even tried eating with chopsticks,have to say I am eating a lot more noodles.

I am , I have to confess a Trekkie. I love all the science fiction films and series,especially Star Trek. I know there are many like me out there. If this is your cup of tea so to speak.Then you will love Stargate. Some of it can be a bit far fetched but,once more good family entertainment. Stargate if you haven’t seen it,is about other off worlds and planets. I find it interesting to see these shows, especially,because I have seen things that have been made up,in someone’s mind, become a reality. Take Ipads for example, first seen on Star trek. Pain relief pens, again Star trek. A lot of technology comes from films and television,then are made a reality.

I watched a lot of Netflix last year and, I got hooked on a series called velvet. This was in Spanish , by this time I was so used to the subtitles . If you can get passed that ,this is a show I would certainly recommend to,the Ladies.and, if you like this, I would recommend a series called Land of honour , a story about a vendetta between two families,revenge love and hatred. Another family series was an American series ,called Greenleaf. excellent. Greenleaf is about A black family and the church they run. And not to forget,last but not least. The modern version of Dynasty. I have to say the Actress Elizabeth Gillies who plays Fallon,is outstanding in my opinion. I do not think you would be disappointed,watching any of these shows.They will certainly keep you entertained.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.