Geeks logo

I Watched Squid Game: The Challenge

The reality TV show brought one of my favorite TV shows to life.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
2
I Watched Squid Game: The Challenge
Photo by Sung Jin Cho on Unsplash

It didn’t surprise me that Netflix made their own reality TV show based on Squid Game. Some people have already made their own version like MrBeast from YouTube. I have yet to see MrBeast’s version on YouTube, but I would like to and see how it compares to the Netflix reality show and the original.

I loved the original show and the characters in it. One of my favorite scenes in the original show is the marble scene between Sae-Byeok and Ji-Yeong. a big message about capitalism and how people were desperate for money and to escape debt. The plot twist in the original Squid Game with Red Light Green Light will always be iconic to me. And it was interesting to see how this would work in a game show in real life. Instead of being shot to death, the contestants get splattered in black ink like squid if they are eliminated. I think it’s a great touch, and it makes Red Light Green Light in The Challenge like a real comedy because some of the people really play dead with it.

Squid Game: The Challenge has a lot more games and tests which can give them the power to eliminate other players or gain advantages. The meals out of cans are dire and you the epic classical music played. They keep Red Light Green Light, the cookie challenge, marbles and the bridge. I was confused at first because I knew there was a second season of the show confirmed, but I didn’t know Netflix made an official one. When I saw the thumbnail for Squid Game: The Challenge, I thought it was season 2.

I liked how faithful they were to the games in the show. I also liked how they made their own games. I was hooked on the first five episodes and straight away I had my favourites and when they got elongated, I had to find someone else to root for.

Some of these extra games are mean spirited and caused the games to drag on. I felt really bad for Mothi (Player 200) because he was doing his best to be nice and he got it thrown back in his face.

I don’t think Bryton (player 432) was as villainous as he was as portrayed. I thought he made things interesting with his overconfidence and his connections to his faith. He really stood out for me. When he was eliminated in the battleship challenge, it gave other players a chance to stand out.

The gamer girl, Bee was another player I really rooted for. I loved her aesthetics and how she conquered the battleship challenge.

One of my favorites from the beginning was Trey (Player 201) because he played with his mother and I think that added a lovely element to the game. Trey and his mother really had a great relationship and added an element that made the show really unique. For a while I saw Trey as the main protagonist.

Squid Game: The Challenge had the best and worst in humanity. In the first episode, there’s a woman who shares her dreams about paying off her house and then she’s one of the first to get eliminated in Red Light, Green Light. Spencer’s anxiety attacks made the cookie challenge hard to watch. The show has been in some trouble for apparent rigging, which dosen’t surprise me. Through some things I think were genuine like the friendships formed within the show as well as the eventual betrayals and strong loyalties people had.

After Trey fell in the glass bridge, it took me some time to find someone else to root for after the dice game. Then the circle of truth game has me really liking Mai and Phill. Mai calculated everything well and Phill was also a brilliant detective who gave me Ace Attorney vibes. I think they were both worthy finalists.

Overall, I enjoyed Squid Game: The Challenge more than I thought I would. I know there are making a second season, but I am not sure if it will have the same magic as the original because recurrent seasons would lose the message that the writer of Squid Game is trying to make.

entertainment
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 5 months ago

    Good read!!! You did a great job communicating what you like about Squid Games.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.