Geeks logo

In Defense of Classic Disney Princesses

Rant about the portrayal of classic Disney Princesses nowadays.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
3
In Defense of Classic Disney Princesses
Photo by McGill Library on Unsplash

I’m going to Disneyland Paris next year! I’ve already been about three times, but my Aunt Dawn really wants to go as she had never been. I was meant to be going with some friends in 2020 which of course never happened. At first I wasn’t that keen on going; it’s expensive and I’ve already been there many times and I feel like I’ve grown out of it.

And the poor reaction to some of the live action remakes put me off as well. I was curious about the Little Mermaid live action remake because it was one of my favourites. I think Halle Bailey has a beautiful voice. I really wanted to like it, but I wasn’t able to finish it. Now, I am looking forward to it after watching some videos on YouTube.

I think the only live action remakes from Disney I’ve watched in full were Beauty & the Beast and Aladdin. I don’t think they were bad films, but of course I liked the animated films better. I liked those films though, even though Emma Watson’s take on Belle just made me think of a grown up Hermione Granger.

Belle was always my favourite Disney princess because shes the star of my fav film. I resonated in her because of her love of books and adventure. I also loved Mulan because she saved her country and took her father’s place.

When people criticize Disney Princesses, they always seem to go for the same ones like Snow White or Cinderella. There’s been a lot of videos about the upcoming live action remake of Snow White, which I feel greatly disregards what made the first Disney film so special. Also don’t understand why Rachel Zegler would say take on the role of Snow White, but show very little passion towards the fairy tale.

Snow White’s innocence and kindness is her superpower. She melted the heart of animals and all of the seven dwarves. This charm was what saved her from being killed by the huntsman. It helped her become friends with animals in the forest and the dwarves. One of my favourite scenes in the film is when Snow White is singing and dancing with the drawves and all seven of them get a chance to shine.

Cinderella gets referenced to a lot. I’ve seen songs refer to her as a dopey damsel in distress waiting for a Prince to rescue her. Have we even watched the same movie? There’s no doubt whichever version you have watched is that Cinderella is abused by her stepmother and stepsisters. Now I think about it, Snow White and Cinderella have a lot in common with their abusive households, hardworking amd kind nature and how much the animals want to help them both.

I think it’s a shame that Snow White and Cinderella are seen as weak. I think they are very underrated and underappreciated. The impact they’ve made is historic. These two earned their happy endings by being true to themselves. Kindness is a strength.

I really liked the two Cinderella sequels because they gave her stepsister, Anastacia a redemption arc and it just showed up Cinderella’s kindness traits even more. I don’t mind the girl boss trope, but there’s no need to sacrifice the nurturing traits that make the Princesses iconic treasures for generations.

It is the balance between feminine traits, special interests, love and individual strengths that make the Disney Princesses so special. It’s a shame that the company that is bringing magic back into the stories is also the same company that is unknowingly destroying it for the sake of money or running out of ideas.

art
3

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D7 months ago

    I like Disney Princesses too! Loved watching them on tv as a child

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Excellent critique of the Disney princess. 🥰💓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.