Geeks logo

I mourn after a series finale before moving onto the next new show.

I know, it might sound weird...but I get really attached to characters! If Leslie Knope entered this contest, she would have a binder for this.

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5

Welcome to my style... where I mix a little Comedy with a little Crime TV and a little European Royalty. I know, it's a little all over the place, bear with me...

I don't know about you...but once I finish a current season or a series finale, I go into mourning. You might be painting a picture in your mind of a funeral and someone being decked out in black. I don't mean it in that sense. However, I have to take a break between watching one show to the next. I can't bounce directly into a new show. I get really attached to characters during a long running series and I have to take a break before diving into the next new thing.

A few years ago, I had just finished rewatching all of the Grey's Anatomy series because the previous season had just ended and I couldn't move on with my life yet. My husband said..."Hey, I want you to watch this with me. You'll love it.. it's called The Office." He had already watched the series so I feel like this meme is only appropriate to share.

As with most, I fell in love with the characters, the storyline, the subtle humor to the insane humor.

After watching the series finale, my husband then says, "Hey, if you liked The Office, you'll LOVE Parks & Rec. I'm like "BABE... WE JUST FINISHED THE OFFICE, I MUST GO INTO MOURNING!"

By Prateek Gautam on Unsplash

After about a week, I finally decided it was time to move on. I have to say, like The Office, I LOVED the intro to Parks & Rec as well. I would scowl at my husband if he clicked the dreaded "skip intro" button.

When the Pandemic hit, I decided to start Criminal Minds from the beginning. I had seen some of the episodes here and there on TV but I had never watched the series from start to finish. Netflix had Seasons 1-12 and once I finished that I found a back alley website to finish out Seasons 13-15.

I was told that if I loved Shemar Moore in Criminal Minds, I would REALLY love him in his newest show S.W.A.T. <--- I haven't watched it yet though.

About the time I finished Criminal Minds, Netflix had just released Season 4 of The Crown. With only 10 episodes (approx 1 hour each), and in complete boredom, I finished the whole season in just 3 days. Don't judge me.

I was complaining to a friend about finishing all of these series' and how I felt lost on what to watch next. And then... I was introduced to:

Schitt's Creek.

I'm LATE to this bandwagon, I know.

David & Stevie are my spirit animals. Ok, maybe not animals, but you get the idea.

The episodes are only 20-ish minutes long with approximately 13-14 episodes per season with 6 total seasons. I finished all 6 seasons in a little less than 2 weeks. Again, don't judge me. After finishing the series YOU HAVE to watch Best Wishes, Warmest Regards. It's a behind the scenes/making-of/documentary of Schitt's Creek. It's amazing. 🙌🏻

I also LOVE,LOVE, LOVE Pride & Prejudice, but only the one with Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen. I also really loved The Other Boleyn Girl, The Guernsey, Outlander, Reign, The Duchess... I guess you could say I'm obsessed with British actors/actresses, and Royal history, whether fictional or not.

Photo by 721vanessa Photography aka me 🥳

So! With all of that being said, what rabbit hole are you going to travel down? I hope you'll enjoy or be able to relate to anything and everything that was shared.

If you enjoyed this post, you might also like:

Enjoy this post? Consider leaving a tip, sharing the post, or giving it a heart ♥️ . Check out some of my other work here.

entertainment
5

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.