Geeks logo

I am Fangirl, Hear Me Roar

Yes, I'm a nerdy girl. No, I don't have to prove it.

By Mae McCreeryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

The next mofo that questions my nerd knowledge and 'tests' me, I'm gonna junk punch until they cry.

I was reading a graphic novel outside a theater while waiting for a friend, it was 'Watchmen' my absolute favorite. I've read it ten times and I love it more each time I read it.

Suddenly, some pitiful, insolent peasant came forth and sat next to me.

"You know, Professor Brooklyn is based on Oppenheimer?" He was a lanky, greasy hair f*&%boy who was grinning at me like he just won Jeopardy.

"Excuse me?" I scanned over his worn Nirvana shirt and filthy jeans and squeaky clean converse and knew he was barely worth my time.

"Oh you don't know who that is?" He leaned forward and tried to take my book away from me. I ripped it away and shoved it in my bag and stood up.

"I think you mean Dr. Manhatten, you two-bit joke." I said as I walked away.

He shouted some names after me as I walked away but I ignored him.

Because unfortunately, that was not the first time that had happened to me. And I highly doubt it will be the last.

I don't know what it is but when people see a girl in an Iron Man tshirt or a Metallica patch that they suddenly need her to prove that she is a true fan. I once wore a Dropkick Murphys tshirt to class and I got cornered by a couple guys who made fun of me because I couldn't name every single band member.

Yes, I have tshirt for bands I don't listen to because I liked the design.

Yes, I have patches on a denim jacket for movies I haven't seen.

Yes, I don't collect comics for every character that I like.

Yes, I started reading Marvel comics AFTER I saw most of the movies.

That does not mean that you get to harrass me about it. I don't care if you created the Walking Dead comics (which are SO MUCH BETTER than the tv show), you don't decide if I'm a true fan. I do!

What gives you the right to test my knowledge anyway? THe lsat time I checked, Chris Hardwicke is the King of Nerds, not Chad #5,437 and if I wanted to be quizzed on my knowledge of all things nerdy, I'd find a BuzzFeed article like everyone else on the damned planet. I don't need some zit-faced, man-child with a Freudian level power complex to try and tell me who I am.

I am a woman who finds an equal amount of joy in getting my nails done and reading a witcher novel. I prefer Batman over Superman, but Marvel is obviously superior to DC. Robert Downey Jr is the one true Iron Man and I feel bad for Wyatt Russell because John Walker is a terrible character and some fans are being super mean to the actor and that's not fair.

It's not up to you what I do or do not know, and I don't want your opinion unless I directly ask for it. You don't have to show off if you see a girl wearing a band logo you like. You could just say

"Hey, I like that band too."

And if she doesn't know who they are.

"Well, they sound like (insert similar band here) and if you like (insert genre) they're great!"

THere are ways to talk about a subject and not sound like a complete dick.

If you see a girl wearing a Guardians of the Galaxy shirt, do not go up to her and say

"I bet you can't name ALL of the Guardians. Such a fake nerd."

IF you have EVER called a girl a 'fake nerd' you are garbage and I hope that every time you walk barefoot you step on a lego and when you heat up a hot pocket you burn your tongue on the fist bite and eat ice in the second.

In the words of Captain Marvel (NOT Shazaam, ew)

"I don't have to prove anything to you."

collectibles
2

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.