Geeks logo

How South Park made something funny into a real, heartwarming relationship

Tweek & Criag Fan-fics and Yaoi Fan-art

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
2
From the show, Wendy showing a presentation of yaoi art of classmates Tweek and Craig

As I have stated in some of my other articles, I have a semi-active Fan-Fiction.net account. I have been writing fan-fictions since 2007. Vocal is a platform that seems to really understand fan-fictions and the fans of it as a whole and do not judge people who write them as a hobby or for fun (as I do, and for other reasons I mention below), and for that I truly appreciate it as a member.

I don't think that you should have to defend this platform of expression, because if you get past the weirdness of some of the ships you can see a lot of heart and talent goes into writing some of these stories. It is--and has always been---a release of emotions and a very cathartic experience to write these stories. I also love to look at fan-art. That includes Yaoi art!

Yaoi art is usually defined as romantic/sexual love between two men---art that is mostly made for women(of course men can enjoy it too!).

A funny thing about this kind of art and fan service is that no one goes after it---shows and movies and other sorts of media tend to turn their noses at it, and leave it alone, pretending it doesn't exist.

Not South Park.

I used to be a HUGE fan of South Park in my earlier years, but after I was closer to graduation in High School, I grew out of it.

But, I recently discovered a couple of episodes that made me laugh so hard, I cried---but there was something else about it. It touched my heart, too. That was something I wasn't entirely expecting.

Trey Parker and Matt Stone are some of my favorite creators when it comes to satire. They have such a creative and intensely funny, dramatic and weird way of showing social commentary and social issues that even if it comes off a bit harsh and even grotesque at first---you have to give them credit---they try to give depth to the issue after.

During the episode(Craig X Tweek) where the Yaoi art comes out(it is shown that Asian girls are creating it and even selling it) of Tweek and Craig as a couple it is shown in the most brash and embarrassing platform anyone can think of: a school assembly.

The interview below tells(in their own words) of how Stone and Parker had exhaustively had tried to contact the various artists of the Yaoi art(there was several different pieces shown by many different artists), before the episode aired, but they couldn't find everyone. I think it was such a refreshing and interesting task for these two well known writers, producers and animators to spotlight these usually hidden in the shadows of the internet kind of things and tell it in a way that is new and fun---and deep. I don't think I ever saw this particular art form being shown in such a non-insulting, cruel way. I give them props for that! Though, it was still funny how they presented it, and I laughed!

It is interesting how these two characters who have progressively shown development and personality in general throughout the show have grown into what they are(together and separately) through these new episodes. The tremendous amount of emotional development between the two of them is astounding. The real question is... are they a real, canon couple? Well, yes. I think.

Considering the aspects of the way they started: being introduced as a couple in theoretical art form publicly, they obviously seemed opposed to the idea. At first.

But, the town was so inspired by their "love"... buying the art of the two together and mirroring their own romantic relationships in a montage that is surprisingly heartwarming and very sweet---and I find it such a clever wink to shows and movies that use the token gay couple in it to somehow make it seem "woke" or with the times. Not all media does this---I know. But sometimes it seems that way.

Even Parker and Stone said they were making a hint to that as well... but even as they say this in the interview, obviously this grew into something much more real than just simple satire or parody. Yes, at first, the idea is mocked and laughed at by the supposed couple. They even stage a fake break-up just to get everyone to stop obsessing over them.

But, to Craig, especially, it doesn't seem proper and they both are upset about it. They mull over it, and over the course of The Fractured But Whole series, they find a way back to each other. But this time, it is genuine.

The most hilarious an creative aspect of some of the stages of Craig and Tweek's relationship is set up like part of a video game. Even couples counseling is set up like a level on a video game(it is a game lol)!!

I find that so amazingly creative and awesome. I can't tell you how much I love this part of it.

If you have not already guessed, yes, I love Craig and Tweek (or Creek as it sometimes referred to) as a couple. I always have. Their dynamics work. And they are adorable!

Craig is super supportive and helpful, he always is trying to listen without judgement---and they both seem to understand and appreciate one another without much effort.

These episodes really got me back into South Park again.

Finding ways to showcase underappreciated and undervalued concepts and LGBTQ relationships in a way that isn't pandering, manipulative, emotionally immature and PC is very hard nowadays... but surprisingly, South Park makes it look easy.

They took the passions and loves of other artists and writers and made something new with it---which is the best kind of art. Something old created into something totally new. A different perspective. A new idea built upon something we all truly feel inside.

That fan-fics and Yaoi art isn't about smut and sex.

It is about sharing love. It is a mirroring of our own interpersonal truths, our own relationships. The way we all picture healthy, ideal, loving and respectful romantic love.

It is about healing. It is about getting through the pain and the angst and the dramas of everyday life to find something through all of that, something that is breathtaking, brilliant and amazing. That love no one can take away.

And yes, I do also mean Tweek and Craig.

But also, you. Me.

Everyone.

Please, don't judge your Yaoi obsessed friends and fan-fic lover acquaintances---they are just like you enjoying that soap opera or episode of Modern Family.

In fact, they probably like Modern Family, too!

Anyway, have a good day. Happy Writing and HAPPY Reading!

-Melissa

humanity
2

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.