Geeks logo

Raising your kids on Studio Ghibli

The films that shape your childhood and ignite your curiosity of the world

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

On June 15, 1985 in Tokyo, Japan, a new and engaging studio was founded by three of the most pronounced and masterful artists and directors of all time.

Hayao Miyazaki, Isao Takahata, Toshio Suzuki all founded such a pioneering studio, focusing on animation that they all had experience with before. This studio has since seen much success with their highest grossing films including Spirited Away (2001), Ponyo (2008), and Howl's Moving Castle (2004)

I discovered one of Hayao Miyazaki's works at the local library, looking for books, movies and other such material to bring back home with us (me and my first and oldest son Ismael as my other son hadn't been born yet), and there I saw the DVD for My Neighbor Totoro.

This movie is such a joy to behold---so simple in it's premise, so quiet and calm---unlike almost every other children's movie I have seen when I was younger. Nothing like anything I have ever seen. No villains, no evil plots, no huge, loud explosions or crazy plotlines jumping all over the place---just childhood and what life was life for them. It is so simple yet so perfect.

My son loved it, and I did too. We all watch this one often---as it reminds us of the simplicity and wonder of keeping that childlike wonder and curiosity. To explore things without trying to overanalyze everything---and to keep your mind and your heart open.

I had seen Miyazaki's works before as a teen. Kiki's Delivery Service was one of his films that had stayed with me as an adult, and one that I loved---for the experience and the journey of the titular protagonist---cheeky and hardworking Kiki. And yes, I shared this one with my son, too.

A film that really became something special between my son Ismael and I was Spirited Away.

I loved how realistic the animation was, the fluid movements of each character, the wide variety of expressions---the way the protagonist was thrust into the worst circumstances but was resilient and strong---brave and very steadfast in her journey to save her parents, and I knew this was the kind of role model I wanted my son to see.

Unfortunately, a lot of the older Disney films had female roles type-casted into situations that didn't give them room to be independent or help themselves---and if they did, they did not give them the persona or the decision making skills to be brave or strong or fearless(to the extent that they did not need any male counterpart). Things have changed---such as with Moana, Frozen----and other such stories out with more emphasis on this for women, but, for Studio Ghibli, it was second nature. It was simple enough---just make them into regular people dealing with problems, without trying to give them female stereotypes.

Also, we love Ponyo. Now, I love The Little Mermaid, Disney style... but Ponyo is something special.

The way the characters are so original and realistic, from the mom, to the boy, to Ponyo----even to Ponyo's father and mother, yes, her mother is in here! It is refreshing.

And of course... HAM!

This scene is my son's favorite. Well, mine too.

Please check out all of Studio Ghibli's filmography. They have a diverse and artful portfolio that is brilliant, wonderful, mystical, thought-provoking and sometimes, heart-breaking. My two sons were raised on Studio Ghibli's films are I intend to keep up the tradition. Of course, we all watch Disney too! But Miyazaki has a very special place in all of our hearts.

Please give this article a heart if you liked or a small tip of appreciation if you really liked it!

Happy Writing and Happy Reading!

-Melissa

References:

entertainment
1

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.