Geeks logo

Honor Society - A Movie Review

The moral of 'Honor Society' is essential for young viewers to witness.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like

When you put your heart in it, you can take it anywhere.

Honor Society is a 2022 film. Harvard University is Honor’s dream school. Upon learning that there are three other contenders, Honor plans to take them down. Her plan unexpectedly changes when she likes spending time with the drama club and falls her science lab partner.

While watching the trailer for Honor Society, it looked like the typical high school film with familiar cliches we’ve seen. I was drawn to the film for its acting credits. While the premise of Honor Society may seem familiar, the moral is important for young audiences to witness.

The film’s standout performance comes from Angourie Rice, who delivers an excellent portrayal of an ambitious high school student. Honor acts shallow but has more depth than she lets on. She is unsure of herself. I have never related more to a character than Honor. I sought the wrong crowds when I was in middle school, too.

A lot of recognizable faces appear in Honor Society. As fan-favorite characters from different media, Christopher Mintz-Plasse plays Mr. Calvin, a guidance counselor while Stranger Things Gaten Materazzo plays Honor’s crush, Michael.

Honor’s plan with the drama club originally had different intentions. The growing friendship between Honor and the kids is really sweet. Armani Jackson, Amy Keum, Ben Jackson Walker, Kelcey Mawema, and Avery Conrad Honor are great in their roles. Honor has a knack for people which she uses as an advantage. Honor makes people see their hidden traits.

Oran Zegman’s direction is a noteworthy aspect of Honor Society. I like the style of the film and how Honor narrates. Zegman brings a fresh perspective to the high school genre that we haven’t seen for a long time. The film seamlessly weaves together moments of humor, heart, and introspection, creating a balanced and engaging narrative.

I was excited when I learned about the film's drama club storyline. As a fellow theatergoer, the drama club scenes are my favorite. The characters rehearse a fun show with positive turnouts in the climax. Exploring activities in high school is another essential must.

This film was better than I thought it would be. Honor Society is a positive high school comedy. The moral of self-discovery is the best message for viewers. The connections Honor makes help her see the world and her parents in a better light. If you have something that will make a difference say it instead of ignore it.

Honor says it best. We are still to be determined in high school. Zegman's ability to capture the essence of adolescence without resorting to tired stereotypes sets Honor Society apart from its genre counterparts. The film takes unexpected turns. I was surprised at the film’s twist. This film is not the same on a second watch.

High school is a difficult time. I can say that for a fact. I liked high school, but for me, it's middle school that I never want to return to. Don’t feel pressured to join crowds. This is the time to start learning about who you are and find the right people you want to be friends with. You never know what people are like so pay attention to how someone treats you.

Take caution as one adult character makes inappropriate sexual advances towards a student. This behavior may trigger viewers.

I don’t understand why there are so many negative reviews of this movie. This is not your typical high school film. I recommend that you watch it. Honor Society is streaming on Amazon Prime.

reviewpop culturemovieentertainmentcomedycelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Fantastic done the job on review. I want to see more interesting

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.