Geeks logo

Hello

This is me,

By Lynn RoldanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Star Wars

Hi my name is Lynn Roldan and I am 52 years old. I have been telling stories from the moment I said my first words and have loved writing stories ever since I learned how to write my first words in school. However I never liked showing my stories in class because my teachers and fellow students were not very kind in the judgment of my stories. I never know how to answer their questions about why I wrote the story or why I did not add more to the story or why I did choice a different direction for the story or just why in general about my stories. The all seamed to have their own ideas about the story and how I should change it. As I got older I took a collage creative writing class and my teacher split the class into groups to do exchange papers and give advice to each other but I got basically the same thing from everyone "Why, this and not that?" My teacher also wanted us to journal about our feelings on writing the stories. You tell him why we choice that subject to write about, how we felt writing the story, how we felt having the students read and advise us on our stories. I could not do it. The journal had to have one page per day for each class so I faked it. I put that I choice the subject because the teacher gave us the basic beginning of the story, that I was usually tired when I was writing the story because I did it late at night after class and a full day of work, and I told him that I did not care about what the other students thought about my stories because the only reason they were reading them in the first place was because it was part of the class and I had no choice in the matter and I was not going to change my stories for any of them.

You now are wondering after read the opening paragraph what's up and if I am that inflexible why I am writing this. Well here goes, after all these years and after looking at a lot of different websites for writers this looks like the best one for a true place of non judgement but encouragement, helpfulness, and truth. Also well yes winning the prize money in a challenge would be cool, the actually challenges caught my eye. I love for people to give me a topic or just a word to go on and make a story out of it is fun. The first story in my creative writing class was about a coffee mug. The teacher started by the week asking us to describe a mug in three sentences, then use the mug in a three paragraph short story, by the end had to be at least ten page story. Anyway challenges are cool and also I just love to write it is my only talent, but no one really cares or knows but my daughter. The rest of my family has never cared enough to ask me what I liked because if you did not play sports it was not a talent. Anyway I am telling you about me because I figure if you are going to be reading some of my stories you should know something about me. I am not sure how all this connects to Facebook or other social media accounts, so that is another reason I am putting this out there so if you see my name on a story you know it is me. First I only have a Facebook account and I only check in on it maybe twice a week because my friend post pictures of her kids (who I call my grandkids) on it all the time and they just moved out of town and I miss them like crazy. Also my other friend had to be airlifted out of town to have her little guy and his pictures are updated every other day as well. I am not sure about posting my stories to my Facebook page because although I have friends her in town they are not people I grew up with friends and I don't know how or what they would say about them if they saw them. I it weird that I have lived in this town for 24 years but still have no true friends here or anywhere because we moved around so much when I was little I never had true got your back friends then either, I guess that is another reason why I have not wanted to share my stories before. Second I can not spell to save my life so unless auto correct finds the mistake I am sure there my be a few misspelled words and grammar errors. Like I just wrote a story and misused the word weather in should have been whether I think, but I get it mix up all the time so who knows. Third I do have a tendency for run on sentences.

So one thing I am not completely sure about this website is it says you can get tips and help from others but I have not figured that part out yet. When I see tips it looks like people are asking for money ( yes, getting paid to write story cool), but surprise that is not what I am looking for, I at this time in my life would like to know what people think about my stories and give me their honest feedback because I would actually like to write a book one day and starting here would make that happen one day. I know you have to submit your stories to a group for them to decide if it can be published, so how can I get feedback from that group? How can I get feedback from people who read my story? I am going to put myself out there and give you my email address if you have any helpful advice you just want to say yes or no whether you liked a story I wrote email me [email protected]

One more thing to explain the picture it is me 2019 waiting in line from 6:00am till midnight on Thursday December 19, 2019 in Juneau AK to watch "Star Wars: Episode IX- Rise of Skywalker". I did not realize until today looking for a picture of myself to add to this story that I was actually on YouTube for this. I am a huge fan of Star Wars and Star Trek, and before any of you say it YES you can be a FAN of BOTH Worlds!!!

Thanks for reading this and for any help now and in the future that you can give me. Have a great and wonderful life.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Lynn Roldan

,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.