Geeks logo

Gallifrey One

Doctor Who Convention Schedule

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like

This weekend is Gallifrey One Los Angeles’ Doctor Who convention. This is my first time going and because of a work event I can only go for one day. So of course that one day is going to be packed. But I picked a good year to go because both Billie Piper and Alex Kingston are going to be there. So because you guys know I like sharing my convention schedule with you, here is my plan for the Saturday of the convention. Now I have kind of noticed that there are a lot of extras for this convention. More than normal there are extra things (beyond autographs and photos) that you can pay for. Now I am poor and I didn’t do any of that, but I will be pointing out some of the events that I wish I had the extra cash for as well.

10:00-11:00 Guiding Light

This panel reflects on the more spiritual, religious and mythological aspects of the show and the planets it visits.

11:00-12:00 TARDIS Represent

Doctor Who has often brought in LGBTQIA+ characters, but now we have an openly queer doctor. This panel discusses what that could mean for the future of the franchise and the fandom, because some people responded oh so well to having a woman doctor. I’m sure having a queer doctor is just gonna go over great.

12:00-2:00 Academic Symposium

Two hours of breaking down Doctor Who into science, sociology, psychology and more. Panelists dissect Doctor Who and it's various elements in a more academic way, furthering the idea that media has influence on the world around us.

2:00-3:00 The Big Crunch

Well it seems other people are just as fed up with streaming services canceling good shows as I am. This panel is all about how the landscape of television and streaming is changing and what we might expect in the future.

4:00-5:00 Alex Kingston Interview

The reason I am all here today, Alex Kingston. Because I can only go to one day of the convention I am missing out on Billie Piper which is really a huge bummer, but I’m poor and have to go to work so I will be making time to see Alex Kingston. River Song is my favorite Doctor Who character and I really can not wait to see her in person.

5:00-6:00 A Workshop For New Writers

I am always willing to attend anything that might make me a better writer, it also might be a good opportunity to network so I will be seeing what writer, Paul Cornell has to say about writing. He has written many novels and audio dramas, and honestly some of my least favorite episodes of Doctor Who but let’s go learn something anyway. Perhaps I will learn something new about the medium.

There is also Karaoke happening every night that I would love to stay for but I probably can’t due to an upsettingly early work event on Sunday. The evening also holds receptions with some of the guests like Billie Piper and Alex Kingston, however tickets to those were another $100 and I simply could not justify that. Both of those lovely women are also doing VIP chats and interviews for another $100…it's a little excessive and also an unjustifiable expense for me. So as cool as those experiences might be I simply could not do it. But even without any of the extras I will have a very productive and fun day. I am looking forward to my first Doctor Who convention and hopefully I will be back at Gallifrey One next year.

conventionstvpop cultureentertainment
Like

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.