Geeks logo

Fringe

One of the Best

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1

Okay so we know that I love media analysis but sometimes it starts feeling more like my job then something I genuinely enjoy doing. Occasionally it feels like I have nothing to watch to relax and that everything is content. BUT I do love talking about the shows that I love so we are going to talk about them in the most rapid-fire, bullet-pointed kind of way so that I don’t turn the things that I love into homework for myself. Today we will be talking about the broad strokes of why I love Fringe. Fringe is an incredible science fiction show that my husband made me sit down and watch despite my hatred of gross things. So here we go.

Cold Opens; Now most procedural type shows use cold opens. Criminal Minds, CSI, and other crime based shows use this structure, it is very popular. However no one does it quite like Fringe did. Not only were these cold opens deeply disturbing and super gross but they did a really great job of adding mystery and suspense to the overall story right at the top of the episode.

The Scene Transitions; Look it is such a small little detail. But location transitions in this show are so freaking good. The 3D floating letters is so good, it's clean, it fits the tone of the show and even when the camera pans above or below the tag you can still see it at whatever angle the camera is at and I think that is brilliant.

The Story Itself; Now to be completely fair to the show I am only running on the first 3 seasons of information. After they forgot Peter I could not bring myself to finish the series, I am sure I will eventually but for now I am very upset. Now as a writer I had most of the arc figured out, that our Peter was actually from the other world and that was bad. He was going to be the key blah blah blah. I know that I have figured out more of the story as well. I just can’t watch enough to confirm. I’m still not over Charlie so the whole forgetting Peter thing is not doing it.

Casting; This is one of the most well cast shows in the history of television. First of all Joshua Jackson is adorable and perfect, I am fully in love with Anna Torv. But really the star of the show here is John Noble as Walter Bishop. We all know that John Noble is fantastic but this trio is seriously some of the best writing television has ever gotten and I love it so much.

Fringe is one of those shows that you should kind of just always be rewatching. I feel like you can get something new and different out of it everytime. The first watch you are just kind of watching the story unfold and figuring it out. The second watch you kind of just sit there stunned at how well everything was set up and foreshadowed now that you know what happens. And the third watch you start seeing a lot of new little details that your brain was too preoccupied to notice before. It is just one of those things that never gets old and it is timelessly good. Even the CGI doesn’t date the show too much and it actually holds up pretty well. The only thing that really indicated the age of the show is, of course, the phones. But other than that I’m not sure you could really tell how long the show has been around.

pop culturetventertainment
1

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.