Geeks logo

Dr. Phil: The Talk Show That Makes Me Feel Multiple Emotions At Once

The typical, popular and entertaining psychology talk show that everyone knows about

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Recent episode from January 5, 2021: My top 5 favourite episode of the Dr. Phil show!

For all you Dr. Phil lovers out there, I'm sure you can have some degree of relatability for my love and 5-year obsession with the Dr.Phil show! After watching a crazy episode from The Dr. Phil House: Brat Camp released in 2008 and another episode of a young, skinny, attractive, blonde troubled-teen girl from Detroit, Michigan in 2015, I felt the urge to watch more episodes of Dr. Phil, which led to an addiction in the winter of 2016. Since I was experiencing mental health and addiction issues of my own during that time, I believed that watching a collection of Dr. Phil episodes on YouTube every night would give me the chance to seek validation from the other people on the show. I felt alone, so I wanted to see other people struggle with the same issues I was struggling with, to get me to realize that I wasn't "alone".

Asides from the mental health factor to my Dr. Phil addiction, there are other reasons to why I've developed an addiction to talk shows such as the Dr. Phil show. I've found the majority of the episodes entertaining, preposterous, comical, and light, as opposed to dark and disturbing. Although many of the guests on Dr. Phil grapple with some form of a mental health disorder, many of the guests are also attention seekers, and simply want to be on the show to either, "make money", "make themselves look like kings and queens", or "be famous", which is not really the purpose of the Dr. Phil show.

Over the last several years, I've discovered and enjoyed watching the most humourous and ridiculous Dr. Phil episodes which has made me laugh so hard, that I couldn't breathe for at least 5 minutes straight. Dr. Phil receives guests from all walks of life and occupations, like the millionaire rappers and hot models.

Every time I watch episodes with lazy, unmotivated, and puerile adult guests, I can't even tell whether they are merely struggling with mental illness or if they just want public attention. The way that the guests express their struggles and really show it to the whole world makes me quietly ask myself, "are these people in real need of Dr. Phil's help or do they just want to be famous for the sake of it"? While that may be the case for many of the guests, it may not be the primary reason for some of the other guests on Dr. Phil.

Never mind puerile and immature adults in their 20's, 30's and 40's; there are even teenagers that act like children and want everything for the sake of it, without realizing the natural consequences for their behaviours. Episodes like that make me laugh, because I don't believe that they are revealing a real struggle, but rather want to make themselves look like a fool. Furthermore, they go to Dr. Phil so he can be on their side, as opposed to their parents side. However, neither the child nor parents are at fault; it is always a two-sided situation. A lot of the teenage guests like Nicolette Gray, and Ronald (the boy you see in the embedded video above) on the show don't want to change, but rather go on the show to find out if Dr. Phil will convince the parents to keep giving them what they want and say that nothing is wrong with the family dynamic at hand.

What is wrong with the world now is, more adults are becoming more irresponsible, disrespectful and immature every day. I presume it has to do the increased use of phones, social media sites, video games, increased risk of a behavioural health disorder, and the lack of insight they have. Adults used to be more respectful, committed, hard-working, mature, lawful and more able to function in society; now that's not really the case, unfortunately. Whether it is on shows like Dr. Phil or out in the community, I'm always witnessing some form of abnormal and inappropriate behaviour from an adult. Those kinds of adults that I witness in the public make me remember some of the Dr. Phil episodes like the one I'll show you below.

For more of a laugh, watch this video of a "wannabe 17-year old social media influencer", who has made me laugh for the last 2 weeks!

tv
1

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.