Geeks logo

Cold War - My Thoughts 💭

Film Review, 2018

By Grz ColmPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
10

This is a previously unpublished review from late 2018.

"Cold War" - Dir. Pawel Pawlikowski

"Cold War" is a Polish drama-romance directed by Pawel Pawlikowski, shot in black and white and framed with a 1.37:1 ratio. There aren't really any other pivotal characters besides the two leads. When I heard this film was comparatively quite short and spanned two decades - I was uncertain how on earth a cohesive tale could be pulled off. Has Pawlikowski fashioned a romantic epic, or has the hyped publicity pulled the wool over our eyes and made us cold with disappointment?

Those thinking it is about the Cold War or a thriller will be sorely disappointed. It concerns Wiktor, a music director who employs the service of a young and tempestuous singer, Zula, and convinces her to flee Poland during the Cold War. He is instantly enamoured and they begin an offbeat, on again - off again affair, whilst they tour and perform across Europe on the other side of the iron curtain. Pawlikowski defies convention by subverting expectations of a romantic "epic". There are no windswept romantic reunions or cloying sentimentality here. Joanna Kulig and Tomasz Kot are eye-catching leads that manage to be compelling characters despite their, at times, obvious lack of likability.

Kulig’s Zula is exuberant and comes across as bi-polar or possibly borderline due to her fluctuating moods and affections. Kot's Wiktor is handsome, enigmatic and stoic. It's a sexy film at times and incredibly romantic, but there's no traditional narrative to be found here and that's okay. Yet, ‘Cold War’ is most interesting when viewing the film as a meditation on love lost in time. For both Zula and Wiktor, for one reason or another, the timing of their relationship is not coordinated and fate loses its way. Their love is out of time and the stars have not aligned for their relationship to endure. It's also about how love seeks to transcend time, geography and one's wayward mental health.

The cinematography is superb - the aesthetic so well crafted it really requires a second viewing. "Cold War" echoes the French New Wave, and at times films like Godard's "Breathless", in its glorious settings and the camera's fascination with observing the characters whilst swerving audience expectations of what makes a film memorable. Pawlikowski's sense of period and setting is flawless; this turbulent setting is really shown to mirror and highlight Pawlikowski’s own parents' turbulent relationship. His affection for these characters is without question.

The film is economical given the running time of just 89 minutes - yet miraculously you come away with the feeling of having experienced something far more substantial than the duration would ordinarily allow. Props to the editor Jarosław Kamiński. The varied music, cultural singing and dancing is captivating; it is not a musical, but these elements are not so much weaved into, but inherently built into the narrative. While the ending is a little underwhelming - it's appropriate given the dynamic and evident yearning in their relationship.

"Cold War" is beautiful to look at and darkly amusing at times. It legitimately feels from a different era which is no small feat. This is a remarkable accomplishment and I cannot wait to see what Pawlikowski does next!

I am giving “Cold War” ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ out of 5

* Thanks for checking out my film review. I am a massive film buff, so if you are too please subscribe for more. If you liked it, please let me know by hitting the heart and providing some feedback if you wish. Many thanks.

You can also check out my film review of “The Power of the Dog” below & the trailer for “Cold War”. ⬇️

reviewmovieentertainment
10

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Outstanding work, Grz Colm

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    I don't shy away from films with subtitles although I rarely get to watch anything these days. Your review has definitely piqued my interest. I'll add this to my watch list! And I quite enjoyed your writing style in this :)

  • I think this would be the longest and excruciatingly boring 89 minutes of my life! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Black and white, and romance ain't my thing. But I love how in depth you've analysed the film. That takes a lot of focus while watching the film and I admire you for that. I cannot even focus on watching something I like, lol. Kudos to you G!

  • According to the trailer, you're one of the film's harshest critics, lol. Looks & sounds great.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Great review. I might store this up for the next time I do the ironing, the only time I get to watch movies. Sounds stylish.

  • Great review… sounds interesting! I’m more of a reader than a movie viewer… my kids usually con me into joining them watching shows & movies… so I might not get to watch this, as I do enjoy company! But this was a worthwhile read! When we’re wondering what to watch I’ll have to check your reviews!✅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.