Geeks logo

Character Sketches: Harry Potter

An Amateur Artist’s Point of View

By Hannah Marie. Published 3 years ago 3 min read

As a latecomer to the series, I started reading the entire Harry Potter books by J. K. Rowling after I watched the first movie, if that tells my readers anything about my knowledge of the Harry Potter world. I did not grow up on these books, but picked them up right at the end of college. I’ve listened to the entire audio version several times since then. Though I missed some of my generation’s icons growing up, I am happy to share some of the book series’s classic (and complex) characters through my sketches of Hogwarts students! I love getting to mix two of my passions: books and art! Find more illustrations in my Etsy shop @hannahmarieartwork

Harry

Harry is the ideal boy with not a penny to his name, then an entire world literally opens up before him. My favorite part of his character development is how he learns to rely on others for help when he is hurting. More importantly, he finds new ways to mature in a positive way and doesn’t let that get to his head — mostly.

This was my third portrait of this fan art series to sketch and I was just going to do a rough outline. I had so much fun trying to get the right likeness that I stayed up later than planned (hint: until early morning hours). Gotta love the weekend!

Hermoine

When we first meet Hermoine, she is an abrasive know-it-all. She learns to ask for help and to give help to, often pointing out ways to show compassion that her other friends miss. She becomes a natural leader and isn't afraid to speak her mind.

I had fun trying to get the right perspective for Hermione, and decided to leave the bottle in the picture to add to the curiosity shown on her face.

Ron

This Weasley boy seems caught in the middle of a large, rambunctious group of Weasleys. He becomes best friends with Harry and is often a confidant when nobody else believes him. He misses some clues occasionally when dealing with the wizarding and the muggle world, but he catches on when he is encouraged by his friends.

Ron’s face popped out unexpectedly, and even though it might not be the perfect likeness, I think I’ve captured his personality pretty well!

Draco

A puzzle of a wizard. When you want to really despise a character, this might not be the one. His backstory is revealed throughout the books and the family history puts a, dare we say it, human spin on the trials and motivations of this character.

It took me a while to get his face just right. At first I made his jaw too large, then his eyes too big. Maybe one of these days it will come more naturally. The question is: Have I captured the snarky expression?

Luna

Luna is the one who is a loveable mystery, and she doesn’t allow what others think of her to stop her from doing what she wants. By the end of the series, she is an inspiration, showing acceptance and heart towards those who feel unloved. She proves that wisdom comes in all forms!

So much fun! That is a LOT of hair! I actually spent twice as much time here as the others to create blond tresses, which must include depth as well as individual hair strands.

Neville

Neville. The boy who no one thought was worth anything, except when they could use him to better themselves. But he showed them how to save the world one step at a time. I find myself being reminded that I don’t have to make a big splash to have an impact.

My favorite part is the frog!

Book Thoughts.

Each time I reach the seventh book, I am amazed at how much the characters have developed throughout the course of the book series! Maybe one day I can post a “First book” and “Final book” picture series comparison.

If you’d like to see similar character sketches, be sure to like this post or leave a comment on my IG @Hannah_Marie._author

art

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    I used to love Harry Potter. I also love to dabble in doodles, I paint sometimes too. Cool work

Hannah Marie. Written by Hannah Marie.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.