Geeks logo

Top 10 Adventure Movie Favorites

Warning: Might Cause Increase of Armchair Travelers!

By Hannah Marie. Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I don’t know about you, but this season of the year makes me want to go explore, and that isn’t always possible when I have a full-time job and adult responsibilities like bills to pay. If you feel the same, that doesn’t mean that you have to miss out on exploration! You just have to find a new way to explore, especially when the weather is unpredictable. Watching movies of far away places is one of the ways that I can get out of my normal every day routine. I've listed some of my favorites here, in no particular order. I hope at least one of them inspires you to step out of your comfort zone and into someone else’s shoes for a while.

Enjoy the adventures!

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

This was one of those adventure movies that sneaks up on you, yet creates a connection with the travel bug that lies in everyone. If you've ever told someone, "I'd love to travel like that, but I just can't right now," this might be the movie for you! It is about a reluctant protagonist who quietly lives within his own imagination, creating wishes in his head, yet outwardly taking the practical steps of going to work and taking care of family issues. This works for him until the day that his publishing company is overtaken by a big firm, threatening to fire all employees. A missing object sends this wishful thinking traveler into the literal unknown, teaching him to think on his feet and embrace the adventure of life.

Spiderman: Homecoming

This movie reminds me of both my high school experiences and my trip to Europe during one summer a couple years after college graduation. The school trip to London takes on an unexpected twist when Spiderman is called to duty as Peter Parker is attempting to take time off and live as a normal high school student. It is full of laughter and action, but also some great shots of "London" places, as well as other sneaky European cities, set to appear London-esque. More details about each place filmed here.

Beauty and the Beast

A restless girl jumps into action to take her father's place, punished to remain inside a beast's castle for life. She carries her own style of communication with the creature and ultimately, a bond is formed that overcomes a curse. A classic story updated for a new generation which takes place in France. I know this storyline so well that I love to watch it in other languages. I recommend the newest live action movie if you want a slight twist on the original, with some of the same amazing music as the cartoon version!

Eight Below

Alaska? Yes!

Cute huskies, time eight? Absolutely!

Paul Walker? No question!

Brooklyn

Share in an Irish immigrant’s pain as she leaves her family for the first time and ventures to Brooklyn, New York to find a life for herself. This was recommended to me by a friend, one of my former bosses, and I love the honesty and intimacy of this story! I may or may not have rewatched this twice in one week after getting my hands on this movie. Not lots of action, but full of insightful characters.

Live. Die. Repeat.: Edge of Tomorrow

One word: Amazing. Whether it be love, action, mystery, battles: This movie has it all! The first half of the movie shows a man who is accused of soemthing over which he has no control. Right as he approaches his sentence, he finds himself repeating the same timeline from the morning before, creating a loop of time that he is forever attempting to adjust in order to save the warriors and ultimately beat the invading enemy. In my opinion this is one of Tom Cruise's better movies and it has the additional plus of Emily Blunt playing a stubbornly fearless soldier.

Legend of the Mountain Man

I first heard of this movie a year ago, probably most appropriate for older teens. It is an adventurous story of family burdens and trials, with three deaf kids learning about life from their family, friends, and sometimes mountain legends. This is a story that reminds me of some older movies that I watched growing up, like Indian in the Cupboard, Tom and Huck, or Matilda. In American Sign Language with English subtitles.

Hacksaw Ridge

I have watched this over and over again because it is told in a very meaningful way, but with a significant amount of gore and drama. A movie that is intense from beginning to end, with a beautiful side story woven in. It is based on a true story of true courage. There is also another musical movie that just came out on Netflix with the main actor, Andrew Garfield, which I'm eager to watch!

The Fundamentals of Caring

While this movie might not exactly be kid-friendly, it is one that I stumbled across in an endless scroll of movies. I have rewatched it because of the authenticity and LOTS of laughter. An unexpected group travels in van to visit a giant hole in the ground, while simultaneously hitting unusual monuments scattered over the U.S. I have recommended this to my sisters and other friends because it's one that I think everyone needs to see at least once.

Slumdog Millionaire

Can love reach across the world and over many, many years, merely by using a widely-watched gameshow? Jamal intends to find out! The heart shown in this movie, with authenticity, culture, and exaggeration all meld together to create a slightly over-the-top yet realistic storyline. It is one that I watch for the laughter and drama, but that also sticks in my mind because of repetitive themes of friendship and love.

list
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.