Geeks logo

Character Development = Life Development Prt.1

Story of A Girl Influenced By TV Characters

By Precious AnnPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Social Media

Character Development = Life Development Prt.1

The beautiful imagination of a young girl captured by the made up life of a character is something to enjoy to the fullest, and fear to a certain extent. Growing up a young black girl in Michigan and starting off in a primarily black elementary, then making my way into a primarily white school is a big change, not just for my surroundings, but for my personality, likes, and dislikes as well. The television was my safe place, not really for the various amount of the shows, but for the characters I came across each time I would watch a show, and the beautiful roller-coaster rides when it came down to character development. Their lives were formed in front of my impressionable eyes, and little did I know that my personality, ad life would also be formed from watching them.

I was born in 2001, grew up in a very pro-black amazing family, but a household of my mother and I only. I always loved singing, dancing, writing, drawing, and most importantly acting. I was fortunate enough to have a supportive mother that wanted me to dive into many hobbies. She put me into a program for kids that wanted to learn the fundamentals of acting, and performing. Young Precious was always the kid with a big imagination, a kind heart, and naive mindset on the world around her. There was a specific show that caught her interest first, "Saved By The Bell" is what it was called. Almost every morning while she was getting ready, she would have her big eye glued on the television before her, seeing what the mischievous, and quirky friends of Bayside were up to. She had no clue that she was watching re-runs of a show that was created and aired way before her time. That is, until her mother came in the room one day and saw that Precious was watching a show that she used to watch back in the day.

As years went on of watching the show, she continued to love and appreciate it more. Even taking the steps to buy the DVD disks that were sold at the video store in the mall. She would save up her allowance over the weeks, and on the weekends she would go and buy one season after the next. Over time, Precious grew incredibly fond over the cast, and the story, especially the characters. Precious saw the show as her guide to going through high school, but not knowing that it would form the rest of her life as well, and that she would be slapped in the face with reality a few times, and blessed with alternate reality fantasies that she saw on television and had always wished to experience.

To Be Continued...

humanity
1

About the Creator

Precious Ann

Hello! My name is Precious, its nice to meet you. I'm 18 and a pretty open book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.