Geeks logo

Bubbles, and Other 80's Hair Products

Do you consider yourself more Miyago-Do or Cobra Kai?

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

What a piece of work is man,

How noble in reason, how infinite in faculty,

In form and moving how express and admirable,

In action how like an Angel,

In apprehension, how like a god...

--"Hamlet," William Shakespeare

THURSDAY -- May 7, 2020

• Water bill, scale, meditation, light, AC off, window open, candle, brew, hydration, shroom, movement = 7:19am.

• Blew bubbles out my window, into the alley, for 38 minutes. Using my Fubbles. So much fun. And lowered my heart rate by 16 beats per minute.

• Movement = 25 minutes of swinging around 1 lb hand weights. As my iTunes playlist randomized, oddly enough, these were the final three songs my tablet pulled up:

• "Thomas Jefferson's Coming Home," from the soundtrack of Hamilton. The year is 1789, the colonies rose up and won the Revolution eight years earlier. Alexander is trying to unite the states with his financial plan. But the new nation is split on the topic of slavery, essentially creating a two party political system. Thomas Jefferson returns from France, to his new Secretary of State position. He asks his fellow southern buddy, James Madison, "What'd I miss?"

• "Three-Five-Zero-Zero," from the soundtrack of Hair. I ushered the revival in Central Park, summer of 2008. It was a difficult show with which to handle 2000 ticket holders a night. But looking back, the cast, lyrics and music were such a gift, and created the year I was born. This particular song sort highlights various words, which became newsworthy catch phrases during Vietnam. This musical number proves that you can put good looking hippies on a stage, and make any lyrics catchy, even: barbed wire, fireball, bullet shock.

• "Wait a Minute," Pussycat Dolls. I can not, nor will I fake understanding this song. But the beat is kind of awesome to work out to. "Everybody listen all over the world. I got a story 'bout my favorite girl. Wait a minute. Oh, my baby sexy for sure. I had to have him when he walked through the door. Wait a minute."

Friday -- May 8, 2020

• 6:18am = Water bill, meditation, light, window, candle, shroom, hydration, movement.

• This morning's movement involved two little Fubble machines. They are a children's toy. Yet I love blowing bubbles out the window so much. My neighbor's cat from across my alley, sat in the window and was mesmerized by watching my bubbles float the air. The window cat, not the neighbor.

For My Viewing Pleasure

So, I accepted a free, two week offer from YouTube TV.

In addition to catching up on anything not related to Fake Renegade Husbands on Bravo, of course I am rewatching Cobra Kai.

This is what I have chosen to weave into my anxiety recovery fabric. I watched both seasons about a year ago, and I remember thoroughly enjoying them. It picks up with all of the original cast members from the Karate Kid movie, but forwards them to present day Los Angeles. The tastes, sounds, music, sights, every single detail is so carefully chosen and placed. This includes all the corny little cheese balls, present in teen age 80s flicks. I have now saved the series playlist to my Spotify.

Empty spaces, what are we living for?

Abandoned places, I guess we know the score, on and on

Does anybody know what we're looking for?

Another hero, another mindless crime

Behind every the curtain, in the pantomime

Hold the line

Does anybody want to take it anymore?

The show must go on, the show must go on, yeah

Inside my heart is breaking.

--Queen, 1991

----------------------------------

@HostDefense

@HamiltonMusical

@ommushrooms

@YouTube

@CobraKaiSeries

@Spotify

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.