Geeks logo

Book Sabbatical: February

Putting a Dent in my TBR List!

By Hannah Marie. Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

February is classified as the month of love, and even though I don’t have a valentine this year, I’ve still gotten to love on some of my family and friends. There have been some coffee dates, tearful conversations, quiet evenings, and laughter. Taking time out of my busy schedule to continue building relationships is always worth it, even if it takes away from things that I usually deem “important.” The question is, what matters in the end?

This month has been crazy and it seems like the weeks fly by and the weekends are non-existent. At the same time, I have tried to take some time every day to read a chapter or two. I have been successful with a couple of audiobooks as well, particularly in the morning when I’m getting ready. One of my favorite podcasts often recommends books which I add to my (ever growing) library TBR list. I’ve also gotten to re-read a couple books this month, reminding me the reason why I love books in the first place!

Bookmark from Book of the Month Club - Resting in a book I’ve had on my shelf for over a year!

3) The Lost Apothecary, Penner

Did you re-read any passages? This was an audiobook that I usually listened to in the evening, so I only re-read whenever I fell asleep at night!

Would you want to read another book by this author? Absolutely! I like the intricacy of her writing with the addition of historical significance.

Did reading the book impact your mood? If yes, how so? This reminded me why historical fiction is my favorite. The story is complicated, and the heart of the story was deep.

What surprised you most about the book? I started reading it without knowing anything about it, but was enthralled pretty quickly by the page-turning chapters. The balance between the contemporary and historical portions were done very cleverly and I was intrigued when each of the stories seemed to mirror the other in subtle ways.

How did your opinion of the book change as you read it? see question above.

What tips did you find for writing? Never stick to a safe writing goal. Always aim for the stars and figure out later how to get there.

Scale of 1-5: 5!

2) The Two Towers, Tolkien

Did you re-read any passages? Not this time around, but this is my gazillionth time to re-read this series

Would you want to read another book by this author? Yes and I have!

Did reading the book impact your mood? If yes, how so? It reminded me that classics are awesome and I need to keep reading these more often. At least one a month might be a possibility...

What surprised you most about the book? I finished it quicker than I thought I would.

How did your opinion of the book change as you read it? It is full of Tolkien's world and I loved hearing about how the characters were impacted by each other's actions.

What tips did you find for writing? Tolkien is inspiration for everything!

Scale of 1-5: 4

1) Pax, Pennypacker

Did you re-read any passages? There were several conversations near the beginning that I had to go back and re-listen to (again, audio) because I wanted to catch the significance. I've learned that if I miss some of the beginning information it is easy to get lost in the end. Another solution to this is to re-read the entire book...!

Would you want to read another book by this author? Absolutely! I've never read anything by this author and I'd like to test how similar/different other books are. I feel like this is the contemporary adult version of Winnie the Pooh.

Did reading the book impact your mood? If yes, how so? This was a comforting story that reminded me of a childhood book, yet maintained the length of a regular novel.

What surprised you most about the book? It got better because it kept adding to the story through the main character's journey. He grew physically and mentally and Pennypacker walked us through the entire plot in a real, tangible way.

How did your opinion of the book change as you read it? I wasn't sure what to expect at the beginning, so I was plesantly surprised that it wasn't just a bunch of words thrown on a page and passed off for art.

What tips did you find for writing? Even when telling a simple story, the author must grab the attention, heart, and curiosity of a person.

Scale of 1-5: 5!

The rest of my list for FEBRUARY:

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This Time Next Year, by Sophie Cousens

We are the Brennans, by Tracey Lange

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Mercy, by David Baldacci

Apples Never Fall, by Liane Moriarty

⭐️⭐️⭐️

Nancy Drew and Company: Culture, Gender, and Girl’s Series, by Sherrie A. Inness, (Ed.)

literature
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.