Geeks logo

Book Sabbatical: January.

Cozying up to my TBR shelf!

By Hannah Marie. Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

In my previous post regarding a book sabbatical, I mentioned that I was a self-proclaimed bibliophile and I decided that a bibliophile goal for 2022 is to enjoy the books on my bookshelves! Before you say, “Hang on! That’s contradictory,” I looked up several sources that calls a bibliophile one who loves books, collects books, or even someone who walks into a bookstore and comes out with at least one book. That would be me. *hand up here.*

Little Lost Works of Art.

I live in an apartment and only have so much space, though I still can claim an awesome library. I have piles of books that might be beautifully written, but have not even been opened for more than a few seconds! There is a lot to admire in the look, the smell (more on that later!), and the cover of my books, but those in my "To Be Read" section often become little lost works of art!

During the months of January through June, I will try my best to read books off my TBR through winnowing down my own personal bookshelves or borrowing books from others. I invite you to join me on this journey! For each stack I will ask the following questions. I will not list answers for all, but will included the top few, along with a list of what I read throughout each month. Find me on Instagram @hannah_marie._author or Facebook @HannahMarie.author

JANUARY:

3) A History of Wild Places, Ernshaw

  • Did you re-read any passages? There were several character descriptions that I reread, as it changed points of view often.
  • Would you want to read another book by this author? Sure.
  • Did reading the book impact your mood? If yes, how so? It was very relaxing.
  • What surprised you most about the book? It was slower than I anticipated.
  • How did your opinion of the book change as you read it? I enjoyed getting to know the characters. The last 50 pages were the best.
  • What tips did you find for writing? Points of view not only should have a different voice, but display a different background, explained well in this story, even when there were hidden parts.
  • Scale of 1-5: 4

2) The War of Art, Pressfield

  • Did you re-read any passages? Not really. Short read.
  • Would you want to read another book by this author? Not at this point
  • Did reading the book impact your mood? If yes, how so? It inspired me to keep writing.
  • What surprised you most about the book? The length.
  • How did your opinion of the book change as you read it? N/A
  • What tips did you find for writing? The entire book was a collection of little tips for writing.
  • Scale of 1-5: 4

1) We Were Never Here, Bartz

  • Did you re-read any passages? No. Listening on audiobook.
  • Would you want to read another book by this author? Maybe, depending on the genre.
  • Did reading the book impact your mood? If yes, how so? This was pretty intense, about unusual friendships.
  • What surprised you most about the book? The dynamics between characters constantly changed.
  • How did your opinion of the book change as you read it? N/A
  • What tips did you find for writing? Keep the reader engaged.
  • Scale of 1-5: 3

If you have made it this far: did you know the smell of books is a relatively new term, coined by Oliver Tearle in 2014 as “bibliosmia”?! It is not even official yet in the Oxford English Dictionary, but I hope it finds a place deep in your book-loving hearts!

Other January Finds:

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Amazing Art Adventures, Zappaterra

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Cloud Cuckoo Land, Doerr

The Lost Files of Nancy Drew, Keene

American Sign Language Dictionary, Sternberg

⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Secret of the Stratemeyer Syndicate, Billman

Isaac’s Storm, Larson

Rebecca, du Maurier

Harry Potter y la cámara secreta, Rowling

⭐️⭐️

The Snowman, Jo Nesbø

⭐️

review
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.