Geeks logo

Book Review: As the Christmas Cookie Crumbles by Leslie Budewitz

My Honest Opinion

By Caitlin GonyaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was given a free e-copy of this novel by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

In Jewel Bay, all is merry and bright. At Murphy’s Mercantile, AKA the Merc, manager Erin Murphy is ringing in the holiday season with food, drink, and a new friend: Merrily Thornton. A local girl gone wrong, Merrily’s turned her life around. But her parents have publicly shunned her, and they nurse a bitterness that chills Erin.

When Merrily goes missing and her boss discovers he’s been robbed, fingers point to Merrily—until she’s found dead, a string of lights around her neck. The clues and danger snowball from there. Can Erin nab the killer—and keep herself in one piece—in time for a special Christmas Eve? (Goodreads synopsis)

I have not read anything by Leslie Budewitz, which after reading this one is a travesty. I will be adding her to my list of authors.

This was a fun, entertaining, and festive story to read. I want to go to Montana so badly, especially in the winter, and I felt the holiday cheer as well as the grief. I felt the author described a winter Montana, and its drawbacks, in a way that people would remember to be prepared when visiting. While Jewel Bay is the author’s creation, she has stated that it is based off of a real village in NW Montana as well as other locations, provinces in Canada. Another location on my travel to-go list.

The characters were realistic, personable, and exactly what I figure a small-town community would be like. Throughout the story, I empathized with Merrily, and how she must have felt being shunned by her family. The scene of her mother yelling at her in public caused even my cheeks to heat up in embarrassment. I felt for Erin, when she refused to give up on finding out what exactly happened to Merrily for her daughter’s sake. I also felt for Detective Bello, being a new guy in a new village. It’s hard especially when where you have been before is so different from where you are now.

The mystery was well thought out, and provided several twists and turns. I had several suspicions, and suspected multiple people, but it wasn’t until closer to the end that things started solidifying. I followed along with Erin the whole way.

What the synopsis doesn’t mention is how Erin is solving the mystery while also planning her wedding which is only a few weeks away. While we get some details leading up to the wedding day, I would have liked a little more detail to Erin and Adam’s wedding itself. But I thought the interaction with Adam’s family was adorable.

I also was refreshingly happy that there was absolutely no love triangle, or crushes of any kind, that might make Erin question her upcoming marriage. And while Bello starts off as if he will be against Erin, it turns out that he will not outright dismiss her either. I understand his reluctance, because it is the same feeling I have about many amateur detectives. However, Erin has shown (in this novel at least) that she is smart and will not take unnecessary risks to herself.

As always I love the addition of recipes at the book of any book. I have already copied a few of them to try this holiday season. For anyone wanting a mystery but still stay in the festive mood, I would strongly recommend this novel.

Overall I rate this novel 5 out of 5 stars. I will have to start back at the beginning with this series, and maybe check out her other ones as well.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Caitlin Gonya

I love reading. Everything and, just about anything, I can put my hands on. I was guided towards writing, so I started with book reviews, and am now feeling ready to showcase some of my stories. I would appreciate any constructive feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.