Geeks logo

Awaited Magic Part 3

Serialized Story

By Victoria WardPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
From Bing Images

Ch. 3 Where’s the Cat?

The next morning, I woke with Moon in my face wanting attention. I had no idea when the last time he was fed. However, from the looks of his rounded-out belly I think he feasts on the unfortunate mice creeping around the house. I rolled out of bed and sat Moon on the floor. My alarm clock read 8:00am, so it was a little early to be rising but I wanted to examine everything in this house from top to bottom; starting with the attic. I grew curious over night thinking about what might be under those tarps near the back wall. Moon gazed up at me with a look of longing for a bite to eat. I image we brought something he could snack on before his next catch. The cat began to rub against my leg with a passionate purr.

“Alight Moon! Give it a rest,” I said with annoyance “We just need to be quiet so Mom and Dad don’t hear us.”

I hurriedly slipped on pair of faded jeans, socks, and a tank top with Harry Potter quotes on it. Picking Moon off the floor I walked over to the door and cracked it just a smidge. Looking back into my new room I saw that the clock read 8:15am. Realizing that it was still too early to wake my parents I tip toed of my room towards the stairs with Moon casually following behind. As I made my way casually up to the top floor I did so with the lightest step. I didn’t want my parents to know I was going into the attic alone. Who knows how they would react if they found me covered in dust and a cat in the center of the mess. I opened the door to the attic and made my way towards the back of the room where the sheets hung over the mysterious objects. However, it did take a few minutes to maneuver through the other stacks of boxes. Finally, I managed to touch the back wall. Moon took to the highest points of antiques to reach the other side. Like a trapeze artist he flew and wound his way through to the point at which I stood then.

“Now to unearth what all of this stuff is. What do you say moon?” I asked

Moon stuck out his sleek black paw as if to agree that he wanted to know what lie beneath the sheets.

“Alright then,” I spoke aloud. “Moon, which one should I take off first?”

Similarly, to any cat that has an attitude my new friends jumped down from his perched crate and wondered closer. Instead of sniffing each thing to decide which to is best Moon sat down in the middle of everything and flopped on his back.

“Well, I imagine that means all of this is worth discovering.”

Ch.4 Under the Covers

Moon gave me a reassuring look from atop the stack of boxes to my right. His tail was swirling around so much I thought it might fly off at any second. I had begun to walk slowly towards the veiled figures, I assumed was furniture, and took a deep breath. My fingers were about three inches away from the sheet when I heard the tiniest squeak behind me. My hands shot back from the outstretched air and I spun around with horror as I saw what had made the squeak! It was a mouse; it wasn’t very big, but I am not a fan of small rodents!

I was trying my hardest not to freak out, but I was definitely freaking out. I started to move backwards into the attic to get away from the little creature. Unfortunately, I wasn’t paying attention to where I was reversing, and I walked straight into a pile of boxes. I fell to the ground in a heap of brown cardboard flying at me. When I recovered from falling over, I thought to myself Geez! I hope Mom and Dad didn’t hear me! I sat there for a minute regaining my composure from falling over, and seeing the rat come out from the walls. I must have scared the mouse away when I knocked over the boxes. I stood with a settling breath, recomposed myself, and found Moon staring at me from across the room.

“Why are you looking at me like that,” I asked Moon. “I know you probably love mice because they keep you alive, but I do not like rodents.” I guess I didn’t need to worry about him not being fed. There must be a lot of rodents living out her around the house, and it the walls!

You might be wondering why I hate mice and other rodents so much. When Mom, Dad, and I lived in our old apartment, we had a really nasty roach and rat problem. My dad had found a rat nest under our house when he went to check under there for insurance reason. I don’t know what he was expecting to find, but it was not an infestation of rats. Apparently, shining the late into a pack of angry rats is not something you should do. The light made the rats more active, and guess where they ventured into, the house! Oh, my goodness! We had to pack what hadn’t been bitten through, pack up out van, and stay at a hotel, which also wasn’t very clean, for a whole entire week. Now, every time I see or hear a small rodent, I remember how awful it was to live with one hundred rats as roommates.

Anyway, back to the story. After I stood up, dusted myself off, and addressed Moon of how mush I detested rodents, I turned back around to reorganize the boxes that I knocked over. As I started to stack, I noticed that there was more covered furniture near the back of the attic than near the front where the door was. I pushed the boxes I had just restacked over closer to the wall, so that I could snake my way through to the back corner. I was surprised how big the attic was; from the outside of the house, it didn’t look like this much room would be able to fit.

I continued to travel through the dense jungle of cardboard until I finally came to the back wall. Do you remember the feeling I mentioned when I came up the attic stairwell; it was like a needle compass that led me all the way to the stop. I hadn’t felt that tug after I came inside the attic. Maybe it was because something was blocking the way to where the feeling was leading or I’m crazy and the ‘new to us old house’ had gotten to my head? I walked towards one of the taller pieces of covered furniture, feeling the emotional pull of what lay behind it. I had no idea what was happening, but it was like I was a moth to the flame as I reached my hand out to pull down the sheet. As the sheet flowed down to the ground in a wave of dust, I saw one of the most gorgeous mirrors. It was tarnished gold, from the years it had been sitting in the attic, and there were inscriptions on the side. I thumbed over the words to see if I could make out the words better. It was pretty faded, but after a minute, I could kind of make out the writing. It said:

“Here is the mirror that you seek,

Touch hand to hand and take a peek.

For, if you truly want to know

A new land you’ll have to go.

Be warned of what may lie in store,

Your journey might leave more to endure.”

Well, this sounded like a warning to me, and I didn’t know what any of this meant. So, I did the only thing that made sense, I went back downstairs with Moon at my side, and went to sleep thinking what the engraving on the mirror could possibly mean. I was also curious about the touch hand to hand line. I didn’t see any hands on the mirror; what could that mean? The reason to why a mirror was dangerous also had my thoughts whirring as I tried to get my new discovery out of my head. Tomorrow, Moon and I were going to solve the mystery of the golden mirror, and maybe we would give a wash too. What could go wrong?

End Part 3

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Ward

I am a girl who likes reading, writing, watching, and having fun! I love writing about books, movies, music, games, and anything else that makes me happy.

Come down the rabbit hole with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.