Geeks logo

Arthur the King - A Movie Review

'Arthur the King' is worth a watch in theaters.

By Marielle SabbagPublished about a month ago 3 min read
2

We can win this race with Arthur at our side.

Arthur the King is a 2024 film based on actual events. Michael and his team compete in a race after their last mission fell apart. During this strenuous trek, the team meets a stray dog who helps them finish this epic endurance race.

I always love a good dog movie. Dogs are a gift. Arthur the King is both a suspenseful and heartwarming dog movie. It conducts worthy research on the true story. While the film has a worthy message to never give up in challenging times, it falls short with its story.

The film proved to be a physical challenge for the actors involved. On the first day of shooting, Mark Wahlberg tore his knee and used the pain in his performance. Michael attempts to finish something he didn’t finish. His newfound love for this dog gives him a new purpose.

Michael’s teammates, Simu Liu, Nathalie Emmanuel, and Ali Suliman do a good job. I liked their interactions. The story pace is fast, not giving viewers a chance to connect with these characters. The actors are more invested in the physical aspect of the film.

Arthur the dog is the main character, right? So why does he show up halfway into the film? At the start, he has a few scenes, but then he appears out of thin air in the middle. The characters have already traversed miles, over canyons, and (like a character says) magically teleports to the area. There’s no explanation as to how the dog traveled the jungles.

The film needed a second edit to enforce the dog’s story, instead of padding the game. The challenges are repetitive the more characters run around steep mountains or across rivers.

Speaking of which, the locations deserve mention. Arthur the King was filmed in the Dominican Republic. The location is stunning, serving picturesque mountains and amazing views. Even though I wasn’t competing in the race, I felt tired watching the actors constantly run through forests.

One scene that I have mixed opinions about is the zipline scene. A character is stuck, dangling hundreds of feet above the ground. I was so on edge that I jumped a couple of times. It gets your heart racing. I love a good suspense scene, but it felt out of place. Plus, the dog isn’t involved!

Had Simon Cellan Jones focused on Arthur, I would have enjoyed this movie more. It doesn’t become a dog movie until the second half. We need stories like these, but should focus on the right details. At least it doesn’t fluff any details. Jones resonated with several audiences, adding a special connection between owners and their dogs.

Arthur the King is an exciting film. It implements themes about teamwork, family, and never giving up. We always need movies like this. Never give up in difficult times. It’s a captivating emotional journey that left me feeling happy. Dogs add value to our lives and Arthur’s story impacted everyone in the theater.

I warn you, that the ending is intense for dog lovers. No, the dog doesn’t die. He’s close to it. I looked it up on the Internet and was relieved that the dog survived. For a while, the dog’s lifespan deteriorates due to injuries and ailing health issues. I thought the Internet lied to me when it was coming close to a sad climax.

Arthur the King is worth a watch in theaters. It’s an inspiring tale that’s fun for the whole family. Hug your pets after watching this movie.

reviewpop culturemovieentertainmentcomedycelebrities
2

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paschal Mmesomaabout a month ago

    I really love this 🙂 please can we be friends I want to get more insight on writing. I anticipate your reply. This is my IG paschal_xez

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.