Geeks logo

April '23 Reads

Reads #10 - #11

By Victoria BrownPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
April '23 Reads
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Okay, April was a rough month reading wise; I didn’t love either of the books I read. Everything else was…fine? April was the last month of my first (and potentially only) semester of graduate school, so my focus was on my final essay.

But! I did manage to squeeze in a nonfiction read and an audiobook, so at least I have that. Right?

Disclosure: I am an affiliate of Bookshop.org where your purchases support local bookstores. I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase.

Becoming Free Indeed - Jinger Duggar Vuolo, read #10 of 2023

I hate to admit it, but I do follow the Duggars and have since their TLC days. Jinger is one of the sisters that I follow on Instagram and am happy to see living her life away from her family. Not that living near/with family is bad, but it’s good to spread your wings a bit. Especially when your family is suffocating, for lack of a better word.

If you’re looking for an exposé on the Duggar family and their upbringing, this isn’t the book. (I’d place a bet that Jill will be the one to write a tell all.) Becoming Free Indeed is about Jinger disentangling her faith, not deconstructing it. Knowing a little bit about her background, it was refreshing to see her step away from that and into herself. As someone who’s in a…transitional period with religion, I’ve been looking for books that aren’t drenched in Bible verses but still give me a Christian perspective on various things.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? - Philip K. Dick, read #11 of 2023

Hm. Another sci-fi classic I can cross off my list. Not that I have a list of sci-fi classics I just have to read, only a syllabus I ignored for the most part.

I did like this one, though! I stress read it, trying to find quotes and plot points I could throw into a ten-page-essay, so I didn’t really immerse myself into the world and characters from a point of casual enjoyment. But it wasn’t bad; there’s a lot of social and political commentary weaved throughout, which made it easier to find something to write about. Maybe I can actually learn to enjoy sci-fi rather than my typical contemporary romance and YA.

The film adaptation, though…not a huge fan. Which isn’t surprising; I’m not a huge fan of action movies.

Unfortunately, I only listened to two audiobooks this month. I still enjoy them, I just missed listening to music while driving and was in a rut trying to find an audiobook that captured my interest.

Eleanor & Park - Rainbow Rowell

Okay. I cannot tell if it’s a good or bad thing I didn’t read Eleanor & Park back when I was fourteen. I would’ve made this book my whole personality, I just know it. Middle school was when I got into 1980s pop culture, so if I read a YA romance set in the 80s and covered in the perfect pop culture references, I would’ve been obsessed.

Among a few smaller things, I absolutely hated the ending. I know why Eleanor ran away, but why did she have to abandon Park as well? They could’ve been pen pals at the very least.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? - Philip K. Dick

First: See above.

Second: I started the audiobook first once I realized I was running out of time to write my essay. I thought it would be quicker to listen to the audiobook rather than reading the novel; I ended up caving and reading the novel as well. At least I was able to skim it since I already knew what was happening.

Going forward, I’m excited to get back into reading for myself and enjoying what I’m reading rather than reading to put together an essay that I’m not super into.

listreviewpop cultureliterature
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Brown

twenty-three & longing.

lover of words, tea, & antiques.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.