Geeks logo

An Animated Movie with a Deep Message

Movie Review

By StaringalePublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
An Animated Movie with a Deep Message
Photo by billow926 on Unsplash

Movie stats: Kung Fu Panda 1 produced by Melissa Cobb. Released in 2018.

I am big fan of cartoons/animations, this is something that hasn't changed with me growing up.

Just now I had rewatched one of my favourite cartoon movie. Let me share my opinion about it.

One thing I can clearly say is that the perception as changed a lot. When I watched as a kid it was all about being cool, fun and childhood heroes. Now it is different.

My opening statement would be that it is a delightful and heartwarming movie that beautifully combines humor, action and heart.

The animation is vivid and bright with all the colors. Ths stage is set in ancient China and you can see a lot of lanterns and other things in the background depicting Chinese culture.

It is a story about a panda named Po who is clumsy and works in his family's noodle shop but dreams of becoming a kung-fu master.

He is unexpectedly chosen as a 'Dragon Warrior' to defeat the villain 'Tai Lung'. With this comes his meeting with his heroes 'The Furious Five'; a group of skilled martial artist.

The movie shows how he is put down by everyone, his insecurities, his breaking point, him giving up followed by him overcoming every negatives and believing in himself.

He finds courage to rise to the occasion and fulfill his destiny proving that anyone can achieve greatness with hardwork and belief in themselves.

The plot is filled with twist and turns showcasing Po's journey to learning the true meaning of Kung-Fu.

The bond he forms with his mentors and fellow warriors is heartwarming to watch, and the climactic showdown with Tai Lung is both thrilling and emotionally satisfying.

The plot is engaging and well-crafted telling a timeless tale of triumph over adversity that resonates with audiences of all ages.

The movie is filled with memorable characters, exciting fights, and important messages about self-discovery and acceptance.

If I talk about negatives of the movie the first point is the predictability; the movie shows a typical hero's journey.

The second negative point is the lack of diversity; as this movie is being set in ancient China the main characters should have been voiced by Asian voice actors.

Another negative point is the humor that is used in the movie in the form of an exaggerated expressions for comedic effect.

The portrayal of Chinese culture and kung-fu seems to be stereotypical causing some misinterpretation to the ones who don't know anything about Chinese culture.

Overall, I would say it is an exciting must watch movie. It is a light-hearted comedy with a deep message. So if you are looking for a laugh go ahead and watch it, you will laugh and be inspired.

I would recommend watching it with your kids. It would be a wonderful parent-child bonding movement filled with animated wonders. Both you and your kid or kids will enjoy it.

You might find yourself at the receiving end of your child's request to get the action figures of his favourite characters.

Sitting here I am feeling my legs becoming numb, it is probably time for me to stretch up get the blood flowing before it starts to cramp up.

Standing up I gave a few kicks in the air, the feeling was coming back into my legs.

Walking towards the T.V I turned it off same with the lights. And then I headed towards the kitchen in a mood for a snack.

I am suddenly craving savoury dumplings now. Let's see who should I drag to the kitchen to make some: my mom or my grandma. What do you think?

ReviewFictionDiscussionAnalysis
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I haven't seen it, but now maybe I will....we all need good thoughts and warm fuzzys.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.