Geeks logo

Amanda Abbington - Top 5* Performances

Let's be honest, I couldn't just pick 5. She's been part of so many amazing shows, films and plays. This really, is just a way to talk about some amazing characters for a little while.

By Rebecca SmithPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
8

First thing's first... I cannot simply choose five of the best performances given by Amanda Abbington. So, these are in no particular order. Also, there are some honourable mentions, because her whole career is filled with fantastic performances. If I could, I'd give you a detailed insight into every single one.

There's something very special about Amanda Abbington. She nails every single emotion and every single line of dialogue just comes to life as she speaks. She really isn't given the recognition that she deserves.

As a writer, I should be championing the screenwriter's ability to create such wonderful stories, but I do think a lot of it relies on the excellence of the actor portraying these little characters we make up. And I for one, would be honoured to have Amanda Abbington act out one of my screenplays. (So, Amanda, if you're reading, let's talk!).

#1 - Miss Mardle (Mr Selfridge 2013-2016)

Mr Selfridge - Season Two Promo Pic

What isn't there to love about Miss Mardle? The kick-arse Edwardian Lady who knew what she wanted. She wasn't afraid of hard work, and she wasn't afraid to put people in their place. For me, Miss Mardle will always have a special place in my heart; even though I am writing this four years after Mr Selfridge finished. She was everything that I wish I was. She was strong, and loving and kind hearted, but she didn't take any rubbish. She was a mother to the young girls who started at Selfridges, she was the backbone of the Grove family (in series 4), she would do anything for anyone. She was pioneering for her time and I think the writers of Me Selfridge struck gold when Amanda agreed to bring their words to life.

Without Amanda, Miss Mardle wouldn't have been the character she was. Only she could've played Miss Mardle with the grace, honesty and emotion that she did.

#2 - Babs (Married, Single, Other - 2009)

Promo Shoot for Married, Single, Other

Well, this has it all. Amanda even sings. (See below!!) Everything about Married, Single, Other is incredible. They really got an excellent cast with this one. I love the storyline. It's emotional and funny and wholesome. Babs is an absolute diamond. She's hilarious and beautiful and just all round brilliant. If you want a tear-jerker that also makes you laugh out loud, this is the series for you.

Amanda is a delight to watch.

#3 - Anne (The Son - 2019) *Stage*

Newspaper Promo for The Son

If you were fortunate to see The Son last year, at The Kiln or Duke of York, then you'll know why this performance has made the list. It explores teenage suicide. Amanda plays the mum of teenager Nicholas. As a mother herself, you can really feel the deep emotions portrayed by Amanda in this. When she cries, you cry. When she smiles, you smile. And at the end of the play, you feel her pain with her. I think Amanda's approach to this was chillingly good. She made you believe every single second. I think she handled the subject matter perfectly.

Anne was a complicated character, with a lot of back story that we never really find out in The Son, as she has a whole play dedicated to her herself. But we instantly feel like we know her when she comes on stage, down to how Amanda plays her.

#4 - Sophie (Safe - 2018)

Netflix Promo for Safe

If you're a fan of Harlan Coben and have Netflix, then you've probably seen Safe. But, even if you're not a Harlan Coben fan, I suggest you give it a go anyway. I won't give it away, because I hate spoilers, but this packs a brilliantly written twist. And Amanda's role in that twist was outstandingly played. We know Amanda plays a great detective, becuase of Cuffs (2015) and Case Histories (2011-2013), but Safe has a different feel to both of them.

Sophie is complicated and endearing and gorgeous. A complex female character, that Amanda portrays so effortlessly, that she could be Sophie. Here, we see some of Amanda's finest work.

#5 - Various Characters (Man Stroke Woman 2005-2007)

This show has a special place in my heart. A sketch show with only a cast of six, Man Stroke Woman was an utter triumph. To be honest, it inspired me to start writing comedy. I fell in love with Amanda at this point. Every single one of her characters, she portrays fantastically. From a peeved girlfriend whose catchphrase is 'you can never just say I look nice, can you?' to an annoying sales lady that takes the mick out of her customers, with her co-worker, played by Daisy Haggard.

I'll leave one of my favourite Amanda moments from Man Stroke Woman here:

*Honourable Mentions*

Like I said, there is no way that I can choose just five Because, she is unapologetically my favourite actress and I love every single performance. Even down to her Jackanory Junior appearance in 2005. I still watch it often (probably too often for a woman of my age). So here, we have some honourable mentions. Which is just my way of telling you what else of Amanda's you should watch.

So, here goes:

- Cuffs (2015)

- Unsaid Stories - Lavender (2020)

- We the Kings (2018)

- Bring Back The Cat (2016)

After you've gone (2007-2008)

20 Things To Do Before You're 30 (2003)

We are Family (2017)

list
8

About the Creator

Rebecca Smith

She/Her

Just be f*cking nice 🙌

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments

Rebecca Smith is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.