Geeks logo

“Allelujah” - Film Review, 2023 - My Thoughts 💭

Significant alterations in adapting Alan Bennet’s play for the screen

By Grz ColmPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
13
Colourful film posters and upbeat trailers can be deceiving..

Dir. Richard Eyre

“Allelujah” is based on the play by Alan Bennett and adapted by Heidi Thomas for the screen, yet what a depressing movie this adaptation makes. People thinking this will be a light-hearted British film will be mistaken! I am unsure who the target audience is (nurses or people who work in aged care?) as this deceptively dark British film has a bitter edge that makes the entire project unsettling and rather bleak. This is no inspiring feel-good “Brassed Off” style tale, but rather a straight drama with a few humorous lines. It’s marketed as a comedy in the trailers, but noted as a drama on IMDB. I remember turning around at the end of the movie and seeing an emotional older woman sitting with what might have been her carer - the last ones to leave. Sadly, I don’t think they got the film that was initially sold to them.

“Allelujah” concerns the staff and residents of a geriatric ward in a small Yorkshire hospital. It is recently threatened with closure due to funding issues. Head nurse, Sister Alma Gilpin (Jennifer Saunders) will be shortly honoured in house for her services, while a volunteer film crew also enter the scene to document proceedings and try and save it from closure.

Mary (Judi Dench) in a scene from the film

The cast standouts include Judi Dench as Mary in a very slight role (more screen time would have been appreciated as she’s under-utilised) as well as Jennifer Saunders as the overbearing nurse, Alma Gilpin who provides a sound dramatic performance which is both gritty and memorable - from the likes of which I’d not seen from her before. While, David Bradley as the brittle Joe and Russell Tovey as his son Colin (who is gay) also provide fine performances in some of their memorable scenes together in hope of repairing their relationship. Ironically, Colin has also come to assess the state of the hospital as he had recommended its closure.

There are a number of relevant political themes that are touched on to do with human rights and medical funding for hospital wards and aged care, but there’s no buoyancy to the film- no real lightness. I’d seen the play as a part of the NT LIVE program screening in cinemas about four years ago. It was a charming and fun play. The play had more deliberate comedy, a number of catchy and rousing musical numbers (of which the residents are preparing for) and the haunting twist came out of nowhere, but served to heighten the play and deepen the issues explored - whilst still allowing the audience to have a good time. Not so with the film version. I felt locked into this ward, much like its residents, claustrophobic, restless, uncomfortable. If there is one thing that works tangibly about this film it is that it taps into that feeling of waiting to die..surely not something most people want to head to the cinema to experience, least of all our older population. Much of the camaraderie between the residents is cut from the adaption, the songs too become a footnote and are lacklustre and highly edited versions compared to the exuberance of the many musical numbers included in the original play.

Sister Alma Gilpin (Jennifer Saunders)

At the end of the day, it’s uncertain what viewers are supposed to come away with. While it is a political film of sorts; it certainly doesn’t have all the answers. I appreciate director Richard Eyre’s adaption of a vital topic but the fun in this version is not present making it tricky to recommmend. Even the film’s post-covid coda tries to be hopeful (after what has come before) but like the state of the care provided for our ageing population - it’s just not enough! At the end of the day, this film does have its political assertions, yet the pill needed to go down a little more softly to attract people to this film as well as get their message across.

I’m giving “Allelujah” 3 stars out of 5

* Thanks for checking out my film review. I am a massive film buff, so if you are too please subscribe for more. If you liked it, please let me know by hitting the heart. Thanks a lot.

You can also check out my recent review of “Broker” below:

reviewmovie
13

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I was thinking of giving it a go, since I like Dench and Saunders.... hahaha Dench and - nvm I'll get my coat.

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Awesome review! I must live under a rock, but I've never heard of this movie. Even though it kinda sounds like a downer, I tend to like heavy movies. You've convinced me to search this one out 😅 Great work!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Great review Grz. Dame Judy usually gets my time and money. Good to know she’s in a supporting role.

  • Thank you Grz. This film is quickly going on my must watch list. First, I am a big fan of Jennifer Saunders. Second, I am a caregiver and this will resonate with me. Thank you for such a great review!

  • This film sounds very morbid! So now I definitely wanna watch it, lol! Let's see if I'm the right kinda audience!

  • Thanks for the review. I'm a big fan of Dame Judy, but I don't know that I'll get to see the show. Not because of its depressing nature, though. As someone who's come to the realization that death is not something to be feared but can rather be more friend & palliative, I find such drama greatly moving. I actually liked "Amore" & would watch it again.

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    The reality is than nursing homes are no fun. Making them too funny is the opposite of a nursing home. I worked in some in the USA and try as you might, fun is very limited, most ppl are just waiting to die. It is a grim reality. I would not wish to watch a painful film about it. You are brave, 3 is a generous number here. Older folks can be very funny in a play or movie, just not so much when they are suffering. Honest review though.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    I guess, I won’t be trying to search and watch this, 3 stars means it’s not worth a peak . Thank you for your review. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.