Geeks logo

“Broker” 🍼 - Film Review, 2023. My Thoughts 💭

South Korean Cinema is where it’s at..

By Grz ColmPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 4 min read
12

Right now, South Korean cinema is very much alive. If we are not waiting to see what Bong Joon Ho is going to come up with next after the acclaimed “Parasite”, we also have the directors of “Burning” and “Decision to Leave” both creating tense, character-driven crime/dramas and, of course, there’s writer/director Kore-eda Hirokazu behind 2018’s superb “Shoplifters”. His latest is the acclaimed “Broker” which took out the Palme Award for Best Actor Song Kang-ho at the 2022 Cannes Film Festival.

Trying to describe what “Broker” is about tends to suck much of the joy out of the experience (I only knew very little going in). The partial synopsis concerns Ha Sang-hyun (Song Kang-ho) and his younger friend Dang-soo (Gang Dong-wan) who illegally sell unwanted babies to couples who cannot have children. One day a young woman, Moon So-young (Ji-eun Lee) anonymously drops off her recent newborn at a ‘baby-box” at a church for unwanted babies - the two men pick it up before officials can claim the child. A chain of events leads them back to the mother who wishes to join them on a road trip to find a suitable couple to become the child’s parents, but like life things hardly ever go to plan. What transpires is filled with twists and turns, comedy and intrigue. Your patience will be duly rewarded.

“Shopkeepers” (from memory) was quite a gritty film in many respects, “Broker” on the other hand, still has much of that gritty style, yet is also buoyed by whimsical comedy and heartfelt storytelling. While “Shopkeepers” also had a brilliant final twist; it’s pacing was very deliberate. “Broker” though stacks on the complications shortly before the halfway mark making for a more energising and (probably for some viewers) more accessible film.

There is one part to the storyline involving a police official that seems somewhat hard to believe at times, yet the overall tone isn’t meant to be like “Shopkeepers” even though there are similarities. There are some digressions in tone here that are meant to be comedic and hopeful, so I suspended my disbelief. There are also a number of quirky supporting characters such as Su-jin (Bae Donna) and Lee (Lee Joo-young) as the two detectives. The colourful cast might just have you falling in love with each of them - that you may just want to stay in their company in the darkened cinema just a little while longer. The performances are all that good.

I noticed that the director may have been inspired by a French film - “The Fugitives” (1986) as a few scenes echoed this for me, especially given his recent foray into French cinema with “The Truth” in 2019 - it’s quite possible due to their thematic crime elements and its main characters also on the run with a child, paired with a warm and sentimental score.

There’s also a curious scene in “Broker” where a character calls a family member in the car whilst visibly upset. We hear the radio playing Aimee Mann’s “Wise Up” almost in its entirety while we hear the one-sided phone conversation. It’s a brilliant scene that has much thematic weight (as small as it is) yet also the director seems to be inspired by the iconic scene in Paul Thomas Anderson’s “Magnolia” where the characters (some in cars) all breakout into song (in a montage) to the aforementioned track. While there is no singing in the car in “Broker” it does appear to be a tribute to that film.

Kore-eda Hirokazu is fast becoming one of my top directors and certainly one on the world stage to look out for. His recent French film “The Truth” starring Binoche and Deneuve (and even Ethan Hawke) was a slight little soufflé, but “Shopkeepers” and “Broker” are both rich character-driven films, with terrific performances, atmosphere ‘to boot’ (the ‘eating’ scenes are alway memorable) and dynamic, wry and moving storytelling. If you are tiring of cinema’s more commercial output, then do yourself a favour and a check out this film.

I’m giving “Broker” 4.5 stars out of five

Please note: Apparently the idea of these “baby boxes” is not completely fictional according to Wikipedia. In my ignorance, I assumed it was. Allegedly, similar ‘systems’ can be found all around the world including South Korea where the film was made. Japan also has a system where one can specifically deposit an unwanted baby into a baby box.

* Thanks for checking out my film review. I am a massive film buff, so if you are too please subscribe for more. If you liked it, please let me know by hitting the heart. Thanks a lot.

You can also check out the trailer for “Broker” below to gain a taste of the film, as well as a link to my recent film review of Spielberg’s “The Fabelmans” which I also rate highly:

reviewmovie
12

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrei Z.12 months ago

    I finally got to see Parasites not so long ago. It definitely deserves its commendable reviews. So, you're telling that Broker is a worthy show as well? Duly noted!☺

  • Nice review and great Insights ❤️😉❗

  • Gal Mux12 months ago

    Yes the Korean film industry is super excellent. Parasite was great and of course we can't forget Squid Game. I haven't watched this one but I'll check it out. Have you watched JungE it blew my mind!

  • Parasite & The Fabelmans were both remarkable. This looks wonderful, too. Excellent review.

  • I've not watched Parasite before, lol. It was just too hyped up and that put me off. I've watched very few Korean films. I remember Call, The Vanished and Forgotten. I think only 3 so far, lol! I'm not sure I would enjoy this movie. Let's just say a few elements in the movie kinda go against certain of my principles You gave it a 4.5 out of 5 so the movie must really be amazing. I'll take your word for it. Loved your review!

  • Ash Taylor12 months ago

    Thanks for sharing! I've not forayed into Korean cinema all that much, but your review has definitely inspired me to check this film out.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    This sounds like a really interesting film!! I appreciate the depth of this review, usually reading reviews makes me less likely to watch for some reason but I’m intrigued by the details you pointed out…. This was great!

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    OHHH! I loved the trailer. Hey, this was great. I like watching the movies through your words. Hope I get to watch them soon. Oi luv the Austraaalian accent.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    I , too love foreign films. I love the compassion in the Korean shows in movies, I have watched. I love how you give details on your review. I will check it out. Where do you mostly watch your foreign films?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.