Geeks logo

Air Bud - A Movie Review

'Air Bud' is the best example of sports and love for dogs.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Are you telling me that a dog can play basketball? This I want to see.

Turning up to the big basketball game in 1997, Air Bud follows the story of a young lonely boy meeting an abandoned dog. Befriending each other, Josh learns that Buddy has the ability to play basketball.

Nostalgia immediately hit me when I rewatched Air Bud, a favorite from my childhood. This is one of the best dog movies. Would you ever think to see a dog playing basketball? Air Bud is the best example of sports and love for dogs.

The cast did an amazing job. They had fun with their roles. Upon my most recent watch, I noticed that the characters tended to fall under familiar cliches. That does not matter. These are characters to whom we can all relate.

Kevin Zegers is excellent as Josh. Even when I was little, Zegers’ emotional performance astounded me. Losing his father at a young age, Josh has lost touch with the world. Josh becomes a more confident person because of Buddy.

Dogs are the best gift. Buddy is the sweetest dog. Buddy also goes through a transformative journey. Recognize Buddy as Comet from the series, Full House. He was also very talented. Able to shoot a basketball and make a shot, Buddy’s love is immense.

The late Michael Jeter is a highlight. As unpleasant as his character was, Jeter was a kind man. He was also a versatile actor who could pull off any role. Both unlikeable and delivering the best comedic reactions, Norm Snively is not someone with who you want to cross paths. As Jeter mentioned, the hardest part about his role was being mean to the dog.

Wendy Makkena did a wonderful job in her role. She is mostly being a mom, but I love how she is there for her kids. I didn’t pay much attention to her character when I was younger. Like Josh, Jackie also needed Buddy. Buddy helped the family heal.

Bill Cobbs was excellent in his teachings. Principal Pepper (Nicola Cavendish) has become my new favorite character with her peppy attitude. And I am sure we have all had a coach like Coach Barker (Stephen E. Miller) barking out orders. Other credits include Jay Brazeau, Brendan Fletcher, Norman Browning, and a short appearance by Eric Christmas.

The rest of the ensemble had fun playing basketball. Each member of the team created their own character even if they were just there to play the sport.

I forgot how emotional Air Bud was. This movie made me tear up more as an adult than it did when I was a kid!

Charles Martin Smith highlights the sport of basketball. The film is well-edited. He planned out fun scenes to make audiences laugh like Josh trying to give Buddy a bath. It’s to remind you about the joy of pets. Each scene was quick and to the point. Air Bud is not just one story. Keep doing what you love.

Whenever I watch behind-the-scenes a film, it strikes me how many times scenes have to be shot. The basketball scenes took a lot of time and practice. The soundtrack for the film is noteworthy. It’s triumphant. Listening to this theme makes you feel like you can conquer anything, no matter your passion.

Air Bud will always be one of my favorite dog films. It is pure nostalgic energy with a lot of heart. A lot of sequels have been released over the years. Out of all of them, Air Bud has a warm charm.

review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.