Geeks logo

A ship without a sailor

Knowing who is the sailor of the ship

By Barnabas PayamPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A boat without a sailor is a boat without a helmsman. A boat cannot reach the shore without a pilot. To reach the shore a boat needs a sailor. Without a sailor to steer it, who knows where the stringed kite will fly.

We can tell by the place where the broken wind falls on the map. But no one can tell when a ship without a sailor will reach the shore.

What an old man said about my life. Your life also needs a sailor to steer your life. He said that otherwise a ship without a sailor would survive.

But no matter how much I thought I fell into a big thought, I did not understand. I started to see how everyone lives but I don't understand why.

I started looking at each one separately. Then realized that one has to make money as a sailor for his life. Also, he pretended to be a sailor to gain power. I have seen people trying to save their lives somehow to look like God to everyone when they see someone else. I have seen people who are like this in many other ways. They make a sailor for their lives and make a living.

And this is the right decision! When I started thinking about whether this was right or not. One day when I went to the potter for a pot, I saw the potter making a chair. I saw the pot being made by taking a lump of clay and putting it on the frame and rotating the frame. He dried it and burned it in a fire furnace, even though it was raw. It is made hard. I will sell that pot for the potter's money. So I took that pot from the potter.

A potter used to make many types of pots. The potter begins by telling what and how they are used according to their types. The potter told me that he made one type of pot for cooking, one type of pot for water, and so on.

And he who makes a boat makes a boat to reach some shore. According to the coast the sailor sails the boat.

I don't understand how to translate these metaphorical approaches to my life. I went to the old man again and asked him, and he told me that it depends on the way you understand it.

I thought again. I started reading many books about life without stopping. I also read religious books. But while reading the Bible, in the Exodus, God gave Ten Commandments to the prophet Moses and commanded the Israelites to live according to them.

Do they need God's commandments because they don't know how to live or do they apply to everyone! When I think about that, I understand that the Israelites lived as slaves in Egypt for 430 years without knowing the way of life. I thought that freedom is also what God gave them through Moses. Once they found freedom, they didn't know how to live and they started to live as vagrants as they liked.

I saw what Jeremiah was saying in the 18th chapter of the book of Jeremiah in the Bible that God made men as the potter took a lump of clay and made a vessel that he liked. I realized that these are the right answers that fit my life.

I began to push forward trying to follow my sailor. A ship without a sailor is unfit for life. I really got to know that. I am like a ship without a sailor.

Every boat on the shore moves with the waves. At least there was no sailor on that ship. It is wrong to be confused. My life is going as planned.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Barnabas Payam

I write my writings humorously, poetically and artistically about the changes in the spiritual condition of human beings to live peacefully and cheerfully.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.