Geeks logo

6 Shows to Watch When You Need a Good Cry

If you like experiencing all the feels, here are a few TV shows to add to your watch list.

By Heather RoonanPublished 3 years ago β€’ 5 min read
2

My husband is constantly perplexed by my desire to watch TV shows that bring me to tears episode after episode. "What about this is enjoyable?" He'd ask after seeing me on the couch, nose red and eyes puffy.

It's not necessarily that I enjoy the crying part. But it is cathartic. It's an outlet to release pent-up emotions that we might not get out on a regular basis. It allows us to step outside of our lives and be a part of something that, while fictitious, is still based in fact. Rooted in real-life issues and feelings we can identify with. And I think this allows us to deal with our own emotions better.

The shows in this list will break your heart and put it back together again. They'll pull you into the characters' lives so deeply that you'll feel every joyous and sad moment right along with them. But don't worry, you'll smile and laugh just as much as you cry. Which makes it all worth it in the end.

So if you're ready for a good cry, break out the tissues and start binging these tear-jerkers.

This Is Us

One of the most popular shows of the last decade, This Is Us follows the lives of the Pearson family. A mom and dad and their three kids – from the moment the parents meet to when the kids are grown up with their own families. The story jumps between timelines as it pieces together all the big and small events of their lives.

For me, this show is the culmination of every human emotion imaginable. It deals with real struggles and handles them beautifully. The characters are genuine and relatable. The writing is superb. I'm blown away constantly. As I'm also blowing my nose. This one cuts right to my core and I will never stop recommending it to every person I know.

Status: Still running on NBC – currently on its 5th season (the 6th will be its last)

Cry meter: 😭😭😭

A Million Little Things

A Million Little Things is about four guy friends that met as adults but quickly became friends, forming a large family with their wives and children. When one of them kills himself, it affects everyone in different ways and has a lasting impact on each person in the tight-knit group.

This show began a couple of years after This Is Us and drew a lot of comparisons. But they feel pretty different to me. I personally connect with the friendship aspect more than the family one. The issues the AMLT characters deal with also feel a bit darker than those in other shows, which makes them very powerful. This is another stellar cast with incredible acting that will force you to feel everything with them.

Status: Still running on ABC – currently on its 3rd season

Cry meter: 😭😭

Parenthood

Parenthood follows the Braverman family which consists of the parents and four adult siblings with their individual families. Each of the siblings could not be more different from the other, and they all have their own struggles whether it be with their health, partners, or children.

This show tackles every trauma or issue you can imagine – cancer, autism, addiction, infidelity, heartbreak, and more. I cried so hard and so often while watching this show that I had to plan ahead when I'd watch it, knowing I'd have a headache for hours after. The longer you watch, the more invested you get, and the more your heart breaks with these characters. You'll shed tears of joy as well for their wins and milestones. This show is the definition of "all the feels."

Status: Finished – 6 seasons currently streaming on Hulu and Peacock

Cry meter: 😭😭😭😭

Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist

Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist is about a girl who, after an incident in an MRI machine, can hear people's inner feelings through song and dance numbers performed only for her.

I know what you're thinking... why would this make me cry? I'll admit, for the most part, it won't. Other than tears of laughter and joy because the numbers are so beautifully sung and performed. But there are times in each episode, particularly in the first season, that will rip your heart out. While the premise seems light-hearted, when you're tapping into emotions as the songs do, you're digging into feelings and turmoil the characters are going through. But the real heartbreak comes in the form of her relationship with her father that's dealing with a degenerative brain disorder. Trust me on this – watch the show. Just keep a few tissues nearby.

Status: Still running on NBC – currently on its 2nd season

Cry meter: 😭😭

Nashville

Nashville is about exactly what you'd expect – a bunch of country artists at various levels of success as they navigate their lives and careers in the country music capital of the world.

I know this show isn't quite like the others on the list. And if you don't like country music, you might not enjoy it quite as much. But when I sat down and thought about the shows that made me feel something, it jumped to mind quickly. I think music adds to the emotion of any moment, and this shows plays to that beautifully. There are also some very real moments, serious issues, and dramatic events that will have you easily reaching for the tissues as you watch. At the very least, season 5 will get you.

Status: Finished – 6 seasons currently streaming on Hulu

Cry meter: 😭

Jane the Virgin

Jane the Virgin is a satirical telenovela about a devoutly Catholic, virgin girl that gets accidentally artificially inseminated at a routine exam. The story follows her as she deals with the unplanned pregnancy and motherhood, as well her relationships with her mother, grandmother, father, and the men in her life (love triangle alert!).

I'll admit, this show doesn't inspire quite as many waterworks as the others. And oftentimes when it does, it'll be more from touching moments than sad ones. But I just had to put it at the end of this list because honestly... I just want to recommend it! I know it sounds like a silly concept, and most of the time it is intentionally over-dramatic (it is a telenovela after all). But it has so much heart to it. The cast is stellar and the writing is clever and impactful. It's the perfect blend of comedy and drama. I promise that if you watch it, you will not regret it.

Status: Finished – 5 seasons currently streaming on Netflix

Cry meter: 😒

Disclaimer: I intentionally left hospital and first-responder types of shows off this list. Those will definitely make you cry, often episode after episode as they deal with real-life emergency situations. Instead, I stuck with the more character-driven tear-jerkers. If you do like emergency-based shows that also have character-driven drama, I highly recommend 9-1-1 and 9-1-1: Lone Star.

I know there are many that I'm forgetting or didn't include because I simply haven't watched them yet. Some honorable mentions include The Fosters and Six Feet Under – both I've heard will make me cry and have been added to my own watch list.

So go watch. Let yourself laugh freely, cry unabashedly, and just feel. ❀

tv
2

About the Creator

Heather Roonan

Content manager and copywriter by day, avid reader and couch potato by night, and fiction writer and freelance proofreader by occasional night and weekend.

Lover of books, cats, beaches, laughter, and all things entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.