Geeks logo

50 First Dates - A Movie Review

'50 First Dates' is an original and heartfelt film with a moral about love.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Maybe days like this don’t have to be so bad. Keep living life like there is no tomorrow.

50 First Dates entered theaters in 2004. Henry meets a young woman in a diner one morning. Believing that he hit off, he returns the next morning - only she doesn’t know him. Finding out that Lucy has short-term memory loss after an accident, Henry makes an effort to improve her memory.

Thinking that 50 First Dates was going to be yet another cringe-worthy Adam Sandler film, I was proved wrong. I had a great time watching it. Several scenes made me laugh or think. 50 First Dates is an original and heartfelt film with a moral about love.

I have to say that this has become one of my favorite Adam Sandler films. Over the last couple of years, Sandler has impressed me with different ranges that I didn’t know he was capable of. He is a wonderful veterinarian, I will give him that! Afraid of commitment, Henry finds himself in a scenario that he never intended.

Drew Barrymore had a tough role, but she did a terrific job in her interpretation of Lucy. After an accident, Lucy no longer can recall short-term memories. So she goes through each day doing the same activities believe it is the same day prior.

Sandler and Barrymore had sweet chemistry. Despite having to introduce themselves each day, neither gets tired of that. All that matters is love. They did a wonderful job in their interactions whether they were sweet, arguing, or sharing an emotional moment.

Blake Clark deserves high recognition for his emotional performance as Lucy’s loyal father. Marlin and Lucy’s brother Doug (Sean Astin) make the difficult decision to go through the same daily process because of their love for Lucy. The way Blake wore his guilt as he has to vacate items made me want to hug him

Other credits to include are Rob Schneider, Amy Hill, Pomaika’i Brown, and a couple of notable cameos. For fans who watched Ned’s Declassified School Survival Guide, I am sure you will recognize Lusia Strus.

50 First Dates gave attention to small ensemble roles. I love when films do that. The man in the diner who asked Henry who he was looking at is my favorite role! And let’s not forget about 10-second Tom! There are little breaks within the story which is a good idea to get to know other characters.

50 First Dates puts actors to the test. Honestly, I did not recognize Astin until his name was mentioned in the end credits! Nor did I ever recognize Rob Schneider until the end credits. Acting is all about losing yourself to a different character which they achieve.

Some moments of humor may not be for all audiences, but I laughed at most of the jokes. Writers thought up creative ways for Henry to have a ‘first encounter’ with Lucy each day. Although I think the film lost focus in some moments. For example, Henry spends so much time with Lucy’s condition that we hardly see him going to work anymore.

Live each day to the fullest. Watching this movie made me thankful for the life I am living. Some don’t have it simple, but it is wise to make the best out of life.

Love is a prominent theme in 50 First Dates. Peter Segal’s decision to have love as the driving force of this film drove home the message that not all relationships are perfect.

Go watch 50 First Dates on Netflix. I had doubts, but it was better than to be expected.

review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.