Geeks logo

5 Great Books I Read in October '21

A List

By Annie KapurPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
5 Great Books I Read in October '21
Photo by Olga Tutunaru on Unsplash

Now, we are slowly approaching the end of 2021, which means you can look forward to me mapping out another birthday article as my special day follows the new year by a few weeks. But another thing I want to say is that I've got some pretty cool stuff planned for the next year - I feel like expanding a little. I mean, I already publish an article every day and well, I'm not going to lie it's a little tiring. But, I can definitely try to work on my plan since my passion is to tell you guys about all the books I'm reading and the films I'm choosing to analyse (sometimes, as you may have seen on the internet - against my will... *coughs in Quentin Tarantino*).

For now though, it's still October, which means it is the season of Halloween. If you haven't already done so you can check out my article on 20 books that scared me. This is a list of 20 books that throughout my lifetime have absolutely terrified the living daylights out of me. Films don't really treat me like that but books definitely did. Just click the link here and head over to that article if you want some pretty terrifying books to read.

So, let's have a look at the top five books I've read this month of October - they are in no particular order and I hope you enjoy reading about them (and hopefully pick one or two for your own TBR as well).

5 Great Books I Read in October '21

This list will not include re-reads

Tenderness by Alison Macleod

I never thought I would need a book about a book but here we are. I have recently read "Burning Man" by Frances Wilson and thought that it was an excellent biography of DH Lawrence - one of the books that was recommended on the internet after that one was "Tenderness" by Alison Macleod. It is about the composition and reception of DH Lawrence's book "Lady Chatterley's Lover". A book which caused so much outrage at the time it was published that it sent the author into exile. From there, we move on to looking at Jacqueline Kennedy and her life whilst reading the book. We move to a romantic outlook of Cambridge in the 1980s and throughout history, we get people who have raged against the machine and through thick and thin, through banning and burning - read and enjoyed "Lady Chatterley's Lover" by DH Lawrence.

Read the full review here.

The Children Act by Ian McEwan

I think I cried at the end of this one to be perfectly honest with you. This book is about a teenager who is slightly under the age to make the decision of whether to end his life himself. He is terminally sick and won't get a blood transfusion because of his faith. Fighting the case is a woman who is basically being battered and bruised metaphorically from every angle. The whole book collides upon the decision being made and whether the boy will come of age before the possibility of his death. It is another beautiful novel from one of the greatest modern writers ever - Ian McEwan gives us a beautiful story filled with tense atmospheres and littered with pathos.

Read the full review here

Most Secret by Nevil Shute

Now, I love a Nevil Shute novel as much as everyone else, but this one almost outdoes the others. I have read so many Nevil Shute novels it is unreal and yet, it is this one that I have put in my top three novels by him. It is about a fishing vessel that serves as naval intelligence during the second world war, it is discovered by two men named Rhodes and Boden. These two men have absolutely harrowing stories to tell and yet, they really do move you. From Oliver Boden's marriage to the reason why Rhodes feels so alone. Things always go tragic in a Nevil Shute novel, especially before they get better. I'd wipe your eyes after reading this one.

Read the full review here.

A Burning by Megha Majumder

Photo taken from Oprah Daily

A political tragedy novel set in India, this book is one of those that will have you hooked on every word. Three characters: Lovely, Javin and PT Sir are entwined in this incredible story of false accusations, identity and the crisis of ideology and politics. The idea that culture and politics come together to force identities on to some and let others choose their own is absolutely barbaric and yet, it is absolutely possible. When Javin is falsely accused of a terrorist act involving a railway station, Lovely must know what she can do but - as she is too focused on becoming a Bollywood Actress, she may do nothing. When the sports teacher becomes a politician, things are turned upside down in something that can only be an extended metaphor for the ideas passed around in a kangaroo court. Blindingly good, this book will seriously move you.

Read the full review here.

The Morning Star by Karl Ove Knausgaard

This took me a couple of days and yet, I was really surprised at how engrossed I was by it. It wasn't really the length that got me, it was the ideas expressed in the book. The book is told from the point of view of mutiple narrators and each are on the brink of self-destruction. There is a female priest who has her marriage in peril, there is a babysitter who accidentally injures the child they're looking after and so many more. Within this book is almost a 'cloud atlas' way of looking at time and the movement of the world. No matter how hard we try to stop it, time keeps moving and things must happen for other things to happen. It's a brilliantly formed novel.

Read the full review here.

Honourable Mention!

Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr

I adored this book so much, but I think my full review on it may explain a little bit more than I can here. So when it comes out, I hope you enjoy it.

Conclusion

My conclusion is that I have read some really great books this month and I really hope November treats me the same!

literature
1

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.