Geeks logo

5 Epic Sitcom Weddings That Stole Our Hearts

When on-screen sweethearts showed us how to love

By Bertilla NivedaPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
6
Jim and Pam(The Office) | Copyright: © NBC Universal, Inc.

We’re still fuzzy about whether art imitates life or life imitates art. So, we can’t always look up to fictional characters when it comes to real-life relationships. But we can, without a doubt, learn a lot from television shows, instead of writing them off as irrelevant. There are several TV series that show us beautiful relationships in a genuine, realistic light.

And after several seasons of “Will they, won’t they?” anticipation, we get to see a gorgeous wedding that leaves us in happy tears. A good TV wedding is one that is dreamy and warm. But it also keeps you grounded, and teaches you valuable lessons.

I reluctantly admit that I was once someone who thought The Office was overrated. But after I got through the first season, I realized what a phenomenal series I had been missing out on. And, Jim and Pam’s wedding? Oh boy. I am not exaggerating when I say that it is the most fun, candid, and heart-warming TV wedding of all time.

There was a point when Pam was overwhelmed and broke down after her veil tore. It was just the last straw — the only thing she felt she had control over was ruined. And Jim swooped in to make sure Pam felt reassured and comfortable — one of the many high points that prompted them to click their adorable “mental pictures”.

Not to mention that they snuck away from all the mayhem to have their own secret ceremony on 'The Maid of The Mist.'

Gif source

“The boat was actually Plan C. The church was Plan B and Plan A was marrying her a long, long time ago. Pretty much the day I met her.”

— Jim Halpert

Right from Michael’s goofy, “proud dad” behavior to Dwight’s wholesome efforts, from Stanley’s hearty laughter to Angela’s demure catwalk, the wedding dance was sheer perfection. This wedding gives me the same feeling as a comforting bear hug would. It is the Netflix equivalent of curling up with a steaming cup of cocoa on a rainy day.

Gif source

It genuinely makes me feel hope and delight. So much so that I watch it whenever I have a really bad day and need to know that everything’s going to be alright.

Alright, who am I kidding? I watch it on good days as well. It’s just perfect.

Finishing The Office (and promptly rewatching it the next week, of course) got me thinking about other immaculate TV weddings. So, I made a list.

1. Phoebe and Mike (F.R.I.E.N.D.S)

Let me be straight with you. It is hard for me to get along with people who don’t like Phoebe Buffay. Maybe it’s because I am a bit eccentric and weird as well, but I absolutely love her character.

Phoebe is a selfless, generous, downright fantastic woman. She had been through trauma that is enough to break a person’s soul and leave them eternally wounded. But her spirit remained unshaken. She still opens her heart to love and light. She still sees the beauty in every little nook of life, even more than her “normal” friends. And she deserves the absolute best.

Image source

Mike is a lovely, down-to-earth, supportive guy who never judged her or put her down for her quirks. Mike and Phoebe’s wedding was a culmination of Phoebe finding her whole tribe; a close-knit family to stand by her no matter what.

“You’re so wonderfully weird. Every day with you is an adventure. And I can't believe how lucky I am. And I can’t wait to share my life with you forever.”

— Mike Hannigan

The love shared by Princess Consuela BananaHammock and Crap Bag is truly one of a kind. And it is the kind of love I aspire to have in my own life.

2. Jake and Amy (Brooklyn Nine-Nine)

This couple is definitely one of the best on-screen duos in TV history. Over the first five seasons of Brooklyn Nine-Nine, you can see the progression of their character development, and it is NOICE.

Jake and Amy simply make each other better, without a doubt. Jake learns responsibility, commitment, and how to be a functioning(well, almost) adult. Amy learns to let loose, relax, and find joy in amusing antics. Not that they weren’t great people by themselves. But together, they are what I would call a TOIT team.

Image source

In the words of Captain Raymond Holt, “it has been a true pleasure to watch their distracting, childish rivalry evolve into a distracting, childish courtship, and now become what will surely be a distracting, childish marriage.”

Theirs is a relationship that shows exactly how a workplace romance should be. Healthy, empowering, and not in the least restrictive. Here is a quote from Amy’s vows that sum up love and life in a simple way.

“Life is unpredictable. Not everything’s in our control. But as long as you’re with the right person, you can handle anything.”

— Amy Santiago

Also, Rosa smiled. What else do you need to tell you about how charming this wedding was?

3. Mitch and Cam (Modern Family)

Not only is this wedding a welcome gem for the LGBTQ+ community, but it is also one of the most endearing scenes in TV history. After years of not being able to tie the knot, Mitch and Cam finally get the chance to have their ideal wedding. But disasters of the highest order hit them on that special day.

Horrid weather, wildfires, minor and major inconveniences springing up all over the place. Mitch's father Jay, and Cam's father, Merle are okay with their sons' sexual orientation, but they still can't be openly proud of them, which pains Mitch.

But with chaos unfolding left and right, Jay steps in to give his son the dream wedding he always wanted.

Gif source

Believe me when I say that the 3 minutes of the actual ceremony itself can reach into a person's soul and warm the coldest corners.

Image source

I tried for quite some time to find a cute quote like the ones I've included for all of the other couples. I couldn't find something similar without the need for prior context. But I decided I don't need to because their love does not need romantic quotes to shine through.

Mitch and Cam's wedding was a moving celebration of love, acceptance, and family. And let's not forget little Lily who got to see her two amazing daddies embark on a marriage that is as delightful and solid as their relationship.

4. Ron and Diane (Parks and Recreation)

Okay, I know this is not as popular as the others. But that’s precisely why this quickie wedding needs to be on this list. Leslie and Ben had divine nuptials. And April and Andy’s fun party-wedding was just as awesome.

But, this wedding and in fact, the whole dynamic between Ron and Diane is highly underrated. Ron Swanson is, as we all know, an iconic character. Ron never had real love with his ex-flames, the two dreadful Tammys. However, with Diane, it was different.

Ron and Diane together were the epitome of simplicity, with their sturdy, strong relationship. And their wedding was a breath of fresh air amidst tons of TV weddings with cheesy vows and elaborate ceremonies.

Gif source

“I want the shortest possible ceremony. I’m tired of not being married to this woman.”

— Ron Swanson

With April as the “best man” and a flustered Leslie finding a bouquet of highlighters, throwing paper bits in the place of rice, this wedding was super-sweet. It was as Chris would say, LIT-ERALLY the best.

5. Monica and Chandler(F.R.I.E.N.D.S)

Come on, this wedding can’t not make it onto this list. Mondler has been idealized for decades, and rightly so. They go from casual friends to smitten soul-mates, and it is a bewitching journey all the way.

We see Monica find the love of her life, in someone she never expected to.

“Here we are, with our future before us, and I only want to spend it with you, my prince, my soul-mate, my friend.”

— Monica Geller

We see Chandler defeat his overwhelming fears of commitment and step up to be the man Monica needs.

“ I thought this was going to be the most difficult thing I had to do, but when I saw you walking down the aisle I realized how simple it was.

I love you. Any surprises that come our way, it’s okay, because I will always love you. You are the person I was meant to spend the rest of my life with.”

— Chandler Bing

Whether you like the show or not, you cannot deny that Monica and Chandler are a splendid couple. Of course, they have their problems and flaws. But they work their issues out, through thick and thin, in a really commendable way. And the wedding episode truly did justice to their relationship.

Image source

I know I have missed mentioning some excellent TV weddings. Some noteworthy ones are Cece-Schmidt(New Girl), Dwight-Angela(The Office), and all of the weddings in How I Met Your Mother.

Things aren’t always perfect in our real lives. As much as we may want to, we cannot control the episodes of our relationships all the time. So, I would never suggest glorifying on-screen romances to the point where you forget to understand your own.

But we can learn so much about love and healthy relationships from well-written fictional characters. Especially on TV series that portray them in a natural, practical way — showing the good, bad and ugly.

I am thrilled to let these stories move me, inspire me, and fill me with hope. Not so much that I forget to live my own love story. But just enough to remind me of how remarkably beautiful love can be even in a crappy world.

tv
6

About the Creator

Bertilla Niveda

I got a pocket full of sunshine and a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.