Geeks logo

10 Great Books I Read in April '21

A List

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
10 Great Books I Read in April '21
Photo by Olga Tutunaru on Unsplash

I read a lot of great books in April 2021 and honestly, this list was incredibly difficult to make. I was going to do twenty books in the list but I did not want to keep you waiting around. So instead, what I have done is I have done a list of ten and then, at the end I will give more suggestions of what else I have read this month that has been amazing.

I realised pretty early on in April 2021 that this list was going to be difficult so I knew I had to choose genres that were going to be different from each other and interesting, diverse and engaging. I have honestly thought for such a long time about this that I started to draft the introduction to this in mid-April. During the COVID-19 Pandemic, I have seen many people posting many books on social media, most of which I have become very interested in. I have picked and chosen from my TBR for this month some books that I have become so engrossed in that I have just about realised how much time has gone by.

This month, I have been focusing on character-driven pieces. Books by Anne Tyler and Isabel Allende have dominated the inspiration of reads this April and against their own individual historical/modern backdrop, they have become some of the better books I have engaged with and really, I have thoroughly enjoyed myself.

So, let us now take a look at the list of ten books (+ extras at the end!)

These books are in no particular order.

10 Great Books I Read in April '21

The Arsonists' City by Hala Alyan

Read my full review here.

The Redhead by the Side of the Road by Anne Tyler

Read the full review here.

The Dominant Animal by Kathryn Scanlan

Read the full review here

The Last House Left on Needless Street by Catriona Ward

Read the full review here.

The Lamplighters by Emma Stonex

Read the full review here.

The Things We Lost in the Fire by Mariana Enriquez

Read the full review here.

(Not Yet Released Reviews)

Dreamland by Rosa Rankin-Gee

''You said that you would come back. You looked me in the eye and said that. Well, if you had, this is what you would have seen: soft wood, black cracks, fridges in the road. The broken spines of old rides at Dreamland."

Earthlings by Sayaka Murata

“Society was a system for falling in love. People who couldn't fall in love had to fake it. What came first: the system or love?”

The Sleeping Beauties by Suzanne O'Sullivan

"By making social problems visible on the body these conditions allow voiceless people to make themselves heard..."

The Hair Carpet Weavers by Andreas Eschbach

"...Is that your education was unconnected with the practical reality of life. You grew up believing that rules are more important than all the facts you could ever uncover, and that the slightest disobedience is deadly. Aside from that, you didn't learn much, but this duty to obey has become your flesh and bone, and on some distant day after your death, when they cut you apart, they'll probably find crystallized obedience in the place of your bone marrow."

So there are my top ten books of the month. I really hope that ten does not become a habit because I am trying to keep to a word count so that I do not bore you to death. I will be back with another list at the end of May so we have to wait and see what is in store for my literary habits then. I hope you have enjoyed this month’s best reading

literature
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.