Gamers logo

Why I Want to Live in Super Mario 64.

All in good Fun and Love of the game!

By Travis JohnsonPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like

the way I titled this is kind of funny and me joking but when I was a kid and first got my Nintendo 64, Super Mario 64 was my favorite game to play. I found myself being good at playing it as well. Having been horrible at the other previous games .The title, nevertheless sums up how I felt about it, though the world of the game was so much more expansive for the effects were great. And each level or “board” as we used to say looked fun and It was. It wasn’t hard to imagine or want to be in this game when you have the imagination that I had as a kid. It was like you could go anywhere or do anything it was the first game I played on the 64 that made me feel that way.

No matter how many subsequent Mario games came afterward including the great Super Mario Kart 64. Nothing comes close to this one. You can tell how relevant this game is still by going on YouTube. There are plenty of videos on this game, so I’m barely even a year old from speed runs to walk-throughs, secret videos, iceberg videos anything to say about this game has been said, and documented. That tells me that I’m not alone in my love for this game, and the admiration that people feel for it. It is still alive and well. Now when I think about Mario 64 I’m just hit with nostalgia and memories. Some of which are due to the love of the game, and mostly for that era of entertainment in general.

I really don’t know where my love of Mario came from. I think it was probably my grandpa because he used to love these games and when I was over his house, I would watch him play them all the time. So that’s probably where my love of these games start. I had a huge imagination as a kid, playing Mario further fed that imagination it was an escape for me and other I’m sure. It felt like you could really be there with him, or was by his side.

I used to make up my own scenarios as to what adventures Mario would go on next. Or what battles or bosses he would fight. When I further got into video games especially the fighting ones, I’d do the same thing. Any Mario World or Supermario World game, however Helped stoke that kind of creativity first.

Super Mario 64 was the game that took my creativity to another level.This was right around the time I started writing funny enough.This game holds a special for me because of that.

So for those who don’t know how this game works or is played, I wanna explain to you how the story goes. So Mario is invited to princess Peach’s castle because she baked him a cake but as soon as he gets there he realizes that Bowser has invaded the castle and imprisoned the princess within the walls of the castle and and is using the power of the castles power stars all 120 (which I’ve never been able to find by the way, I always get 102 to 105 never got 120) to do so.

The power stars are hidden in the castles paintings, which are like portals to world's and Bowser has his minions to keep watch over them, and so Mario being the hero that he is has to go within these portals/paintings to retrieve the stars, and then fight all of Bowser’s minions to get them back so that he can essentially release princess peach.

Every time Mario gets a certain number of stars he has to defeat Bowser. He has to defeat him a total of three times. he’s able to do that by the more stars he retrieves in the paintings. You know basically leveling up. Now the story of Mario saving peach is not new, but the way they had him do it in this game was pretty new. It’s pretty fun and you get to go to different places within the castle, within the paintings. Each painting has five missions you have to do in order to get the star at the end of said painting, or mission, whatever you want to call it.

Any time Mario had to get a star in snow or water, were always my favorite parts of the game.That’s due to the way they build these worlds in their use of 3-D which at least for me was cutting edge at the time. So I want to give a huge shoutout to everyone who worked on this game, because it does not feel dated at all. It’s no wonder it’s considered one of the best games of all time! And that’s why I want to go to there! Lol

walkthroughnintendomobilearcadeaction adventure
Like

About the Creator

Travis Johnson

Aspiring actor and writer, Pop Culture lover and alien. With a penchant for beef jerky, gotta have that jerky.

Follow me if you’d like https://www.instagram.com/sivetoblake/ or twitter @sivetoblake

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.