Gamers logo

The Adventure into the Web

A clever "side plot"

By Brianna WrigleyPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

This is one of the stories I mentioned briefly during the Ogremoch plot. This is the adventure of the web. This was before Ogremoch's appearance. The party is consisted of; Faulk, Half-Orc Barbarian. Voric, High Elf Fighter. Korrin Dragonborn Monk. Dagless Half-Elf Bard. And me, Nerithyra a Tiefling Rogue.

While in Dashmena the party found themselves in need of something to kill time. So we decided to follow up on this spider ring I got my very first session.

Venturing into the Undercity, we find some leads on the Singed Owl we were told to go to. We find the place, talk to the barkeep, and eventually get an entrance to the Web. The Web is a series of underground tunnels all across the city. We were in for a long trip.

To make the randomness of the Web our DM had us all write one good and one bad thing we could encounter in the Web. I knew I had messed up when I handed mine to him and he started laughing. Everyone looked at me with some degree of horror.

I just hoped we wouldn't come across what I put. Oh how wrong I was.

We venture into the Web and find a toxic pile of gold, then a very empty hallway. Far too clean. The party sends me ahead to scout it out. I run face first into a gelatinous cube. I get stuck. The party comes after me and Faulk has to pull me out. Before I can even move I get sucked right back in. This was starting off great. We killed the slime and moved on, coming across a split in the path.

From one side we hear shuffling of feet, and the other we hear armored footsteps. We chose to go towards the armored steps. We run into none other than Julian Karrone and his guards. There goes my hope of not ever picking this one. I sighed deeply and ran a hand down my face. Everyone looks at me.

"This... This is what you put in?" One of them asks and I just nod.

"I didn't think it would go that bad, alright?" I replied.

Well, we try talking to Karrone, he notices the Unicorn pendant Faulk wears as a symbol of Meliekkie. He asks Faulk if he worships a god. This man is extremely anti-religion of any sort. Instead of answering, Faulk just punches him in the face. This is the start of our long lasting hatred of this man.

Karrone takes the unicorn, breaks it, and when Faulk tries to fight him more Dagless steps in. He tries to diffuse the situation, but Karrone isn't having that. Voric attempts to use the watch we got from DeGull to change what happened, but it only seems to make it worse. Karrone ends up feebleminding Dagless.

Everyone looks at me and I know I've messed this up so badly. I under estimated Karrone so very much.

We manage to escape Karrone and exit the Web with our mindless Bard. We were afraid to let his butler, Jeves, know about what happened. Jeves scared us a bit, he knew everything. The one day Dagless gave him off a series of murders started happening. We didn't blame him of course, but some part of us knew it was Jeves.

So we spend a day trying to figure out how to cure Dagless. We find a shop that sells scrolls for an absurdly high price, but we have no other choice. So we buy the scroll, fix Dagless and head right back down to the Web. The chances of running into Karrone twice are pretty low, right?

In theory this was true, but the first thing we ran into when we got back in. It was Karrone. I was somewhat glad I was sneaking along the ceiling for this one. He demanded we hand over our weapons. Voric tries to warn him about Tinderstrike, but he doesn't listen.

"Well don't say I didn't warn you," Voric says as he hands over Tinderstrike. Karrone throws him on the ground and tries to destroy him. This only manages to make Tinderstrike very upset. Tinderstrike summons a fire elemental that chases Karrone and his men off and we can somewhat safely continue on. Voric calls back Tinderstrike, very useful fighter ability of his.

We come across a body with an Amulet of Planes, then a child. This child seemed to be harmless, but Faulk wasn't convinced. So I went ahead, used Detect Magic on the kid, found nothing as suspected. Went back, told Faulk this and he was still skeptical.

After some convincing, Faulk goes up to the kid to talk to her. After a short conversation, she hugs Faulk and tries to steal some gold. He doesn't take this well and slams the poor thing against the wall. We're pretty sure she has some brain damage after that one.

Korrin uses Spare the Dying on the kid and we continue on. Eventually we find what we're looking for. After using the 'password' we're let in and I immediately want to kill them. We see three people, the butler from the party, a Myconid, and my enemy Scar.

We talk with them, the party convincing me to listen. They inform us that they were the ones behind the poisoning of the Grand Magistrate. The very night I got caught stealing from the vaults of the Grand Magistrate. I was a scapegoat for them all along.

Nerithyra was hired by Scar and his organization to help them with a "heist". She was left alone to pick the lock and when the alarms went off they were all long gone. She was caught and sent to the mines. The two highest charges in Somptu are for theft and murder. The customary punishments for these are zombification or slavery.

She has very good reason to hate the man. For the sake of the party, she let them talk. They explained that they were planning the same thing to the three new candidates, to get rid of them. To instate a new government. We somewhat reluctantly agreed to help them by going after Charles DeGull. We didn't like him, but he knew us already. Karrone was a definite no.

We do as we say, and start to get closer to DeGull. We say we want to see him win and do what he asks of us. This is when the Froghemoth fight and the heist happen.

After that we head back into the Web to meet with the other three. We've decided by this point that we're going to kill them instead of going through with the plan.

We find them with ease this time and let them talk for awhile. The we launch our attack. We manage to kill Fang, the butler, and Champignon the Myconid no problem. But Scar escapes through the mushroom ring in the room. We burn the ring and leave.

That's when we run into Karrone once again.

"Didn't I tell you it was illegal to be down here?" He says, annoyed.

"Well if it's so illegal, why are you down here?" I ask, annoyed and frustrated that Scar escaped. Somehow that was enough for him to let us go without a hitch.

It wasn't long after this last trip into the Web that Ogremoch showed up. We had hoped Karrone was killed in the whole ordeal, but we were proven wrong. Karrone and DeGull both declared themselves Grand Magistrate in this time of crisis. That was enough to start a war between them. Somptu was split in two and was far more dangerous to travel through now.

These are the events that really made me think about the possible consequences of my own actions. Faulk however, never learns any better. We came out of this one with a new enemy and far more problems than we went in with.

table top
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.