Gamers logo

Tarkov's Patch 0.13 is Here!

What's new with this update?

By JirasuPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

Well well well... after what has felt like ages since the idea of this patch actually becoming a reality, we are now finally in patch 0.13 Also known as the Streets of Tarkov Patch. That’s right; the map is in the game, it’s playable, along with a whole slew of changes and additions to the game. This might be the most hyped and anticipated patch in the game's history; although to be fair, Reserve is a very close second. Regardless, we have arrived. And how is it? How’s the map? How has the wipe experience been this time around, and overall, what are my thoughts on the patch as a whole?

So far, this wipe has certainly been the most interesting one we’ve had in a long time. At least a year now. Because the last wipe was during the summer, and the one before that was almost a year ago exactly. There’s a lot to go over so I’m going to do my best to hit as many of the highlights as I can. The first and largest one arguably, is Streets. And I’ll be brutally honest, I haven’t played the map yet. I know I should’ve by now, but I wanted to try and hit the ground running and my first couple raids were really good. Now, it’s a struggle fest. But I have seen a TON of the map from watching everyone play it, and it looks incredibly interesting. So much detail, and just walking down the main road feels so cool. You’ve seen this map for years, and now you’re finally on it! The new smoke grenade extract is fun and different, and overall, it looks to live up to its expectations. We’ll see how it shapes up around initial spawns at what the first 30 seconds of a Streets raid looks like in the coming weeks and months, but I will be playing it soon I promise; just want to go in with decent gear so when I inevitably die it hurts that much more.

Now, probably the most different change in the game is the removal of steam audio and its replacement of oculus audio. It’s too early to say whether the switch was an overall net positive or negative, but I can certainly say it’s really different. As someone who never used binaural audio, except for about 2 raids when it initially came out, all the sounds are so drastically different, but I still get roughly the same information as before, relatively speaking. It all just sounds different; if you’re inside, gunshots reverb, vibrates and bounce a lot more and outside sounds are louder and much more distinct. Again, is this a good thing? I don’t know; I’m really ignorant to how this stuff really works behind the scenes, and there are definitely bugs and spots on certain maps with major issues, but we will wait and see how BSG tweaks and tunes the audio to see what it ultimately becomes.

New guns have been introduced as well; the AUG and the RSH-12, which is just the ASH-12 in revolver form. I used the AUG because it was a gift on the official Tarkov website, and it honestly seemed better than I was expecting it to be. Because it looked so lacking in attachment slots, I figured it was going to have too much recoil and just be a blemish of a gun, very similar to how the G36 was when it first came out. But it actually has solid recoil numbers. It has more horizontal recoil than it does vertical, which is a breath of fresh air. It doesn’t just jump into the sky when you shoot it once or twice. It stays pretty much where you’re aiming. You have NO idea how welcome this kind of recoil is. Different is good. And the RSH-12 again from what I’ve seen because I don’t have it yet, is wild. Just a beefy ass weapon that packs a massive punch in a small package. And of course, how could we not mention the new underbarrel grenade launchers. And they are as you would expect; really REALLY strong. They can be obtained through airdrops, and I’m sure through other means as well, but if you have the ammo for them, they are an extremely strong piece of utility. They do tank your weapon’s ergo which helps balance them out somewhat, but as long as they are rare out in the world, even with their addition, they shouldn’t be a problem in the long term, right?

In terms of the economy, everything is much more expensive. Especially suppressors; the ump suppressor is almost 100k. Of course, after I write this section the prices have gone down a decent amount from when I initially saw them, but they are still higher than previous wipe. But just not AS high. But prices are inflated this time around, and we’ll see how that influences people’s buying habits. I wish there was a higher focus on making items rarer by potential removal from vendors in favor of finding them in the world, instead of arbitrarily making them rarer because they are so expensive but I digress. Also, a lot of items are now locked behind even more tasks than ever before. And even some crafts are now locked behind tasks. So even if you have the correct module level, you might not be able to craft what you’re looking before. Again, another interesting change and we will see down the line how those effects crafting decisions.

The Hideout finally got the gym. Well, it starts as a hole in your wall, and then by destroying it and finding the super-secret door behind the wall, you can pump a lot of items into it and get the gym. The expansion to the hideout is cool, and leveling up some of your skills by a honestly kind of silly quick-time event is definitely welcome in this doom and gloom game. There’s a delicate balance to making sure you don’t work too hard, otherwise you get fatigued and can go into a raid with some unwanted side effects. But I’m sure once we learn the right amount to work out with, getting those higher levels for strength and endurance will be most welcome by the community.

Finally, I think the last huge thing that is now in the game, but not mentioned in the notes, is Lightkeeper; here’s here. In the flesh. You can actually go to lighthouse and with the correct items, can speak to him. Now, there is a video out on YouTube where you can see what happens when you enter the room with lightkeeper, but in case anyone doesn’t want to know I won’t be sharing that information. It’s a very easy search if you are curious. All I’ll say is, for now, it seems like we are going to have to work really hard in order to fully engage this in raid trader. Because remember, at the end of the day, he is indeed a vendor who sells stuff to us. What? We don’t know. But I honestly expect to change within the next week or so.

And I think that’s it for all the big stuff in patch 0.13 I hope I’m not forgetting anything major; if I did, I’m sorry. But seeing how the patch has been out for almost a week, I wanted to give just some brief notes on what’s been going on and how everything has felt so far. And I can say I am happy with this patch and wipe. WAY better than the summer one we got 6 months ago that’s for damn sure. But within the coming weeks and months we will see what issues arise with all these changes and talk about them as they crop up. So, stay tuned for all that down the road. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to watch this video, I hope you enjoyed and if you did, be sure to like and subscribe for more videos about Tarkov and patch 0.13 I hope to see you in future ones.

rpgfirst person shooter
Like

About the Creator

Jirasu

Scripts about the things I find interesting. Most are for videos on my YouTube channel.

Check it out, if you're interested:

hhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiqQGl1HGmVKGMYD8DRaHZQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.