Gamers logo

Rebooting Animal Crossing: New Horizons

How I managed to refall in love with a game

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 2 months ago 3 min read
1
Rebooting Animal Crossing: New Horizons
Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

I've been struggling with anxiety lately.

I've seen a psychiatrist about it and that kind of helped a bit.

I see a counsellor on a regular basis and that sort of helps.

I'm trying to write but I just don't have the same motivation anymore.

Then it hit me.

I needed to come up with something to ease my anxiety other than medication and it just so happened that playing Animal Crossing was the solution.

I had forgotten how much I really love the game. It was my perfect solution to my problem. Animal Crossing has always been therapeutic to me- the music, the graphics- everything about it is just soothing. Well, except maybe fishing and bug hunting.

I mean it has only been three days of playing it again but still- it gave me a purpose again.

I have been an avid Animal Crossing player since I was eight years old.

I loved playing the game after school on my favourite gaming console... The Nintendo GameCube. Oh, how I truly loved the simplicity of the original Animal Crossing. But I like to play favorites since the GameCube JUST so happens to be my favourite gaming console. In my honest opinion, the game always felt like coming home. It was always one of those games that you could always pick up right where you left off. Except in this case- I was lost in the midst of my map and just decided to restart the game. Which was a hard decision yet a good one in my mind. It has been probably two years since I played.

My daughter fell in love with the game after spending time with her dad. She's kind of my inspiration behind starting a new town.

I have spent many hours playing this game with my childhood best friend. We had shared our towns on the GameCube and our Nintendo DS Lite. I can still remember playing Animal Crossing: Wild World with her during one of our God-awful snow days from school way back in the day. I fell in love with changing my hair styles in the salon. I guess I was just a stupid kid.

My grandma had always been a secret avid gamer. I can remember this one winter, where she called my mother up in the middle of the night to ask her questions about Animal Crossing: Wild World. My grandmother was so frustrated that she could not put Christmas lights up along her house and all of her villagers had lights. This is something our family members like to tease her about to this day. The villagers had always felt like family members to me. At such a young age, I had truly fallen in love with this game. I always told her she could have been a famous YouTuber with the way she likes to game- especially with Clash of Clans. If you're a Clash of Clans fan you may have heard of "grandma" before. Well that's my grandma. She's truly an amazing woman.

I'm tempted to buy the brand new DLC for the Switch but I cannot justify it yet.

As I'm writing this, my town is slowly piecing itself together. I started with oranges as my fruit and managed to score some cherries and coconuts to plant. My museum tent it built and my house has been upgraded once. Let me see what tomorrow brings- who knows, maybe I'll catch a shark and score some moola.

Also, Tom Nook is a crook. I hate that character so much. He is the worst kind of loan shark out there and I truly feel sorry for Timmy and Tommy for having to deal with him. Why pretend to be a good person when you're really not?

I hope you enjoyed this post about Animal Crossing. If you haven't played the game, download Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp on your cellular device for a really cool phone game that is chill and relaxing at the same time.

Chloe Rose Violet🌹

womennintendoconsoleartadventure games
1

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.