Gamers logo

My Starter Pokemon of Choice For Each Generation

Gotta catch em' all, or at least these Pokemon in particular.

By KaciePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Picture from https://bestreamer.com/gaming/all-pokemon-starters-by-generation/

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, Pokemon starters, what a crucial choice we have to make so early on in our adventures. With 8 generations in total and 3 starter Pokemon for each generation, we must choose between 24 possible companions. I mean look at all those Pokemon up above, wouldn't you want to have all of them?! This choice we make can determine how we play the rest of our game and dictate how we set up the rest of our team. For this article I am going to share my starter of choice for each generation. A quick disclaimer: yes, I love grass-types. Don't judge me for this they are just so cute and it isn't like they can't do any damage I mean they are effective against water and ground types! If you are one of the many grass-type haters then perhaps this isn't the article for you, but if you have an open mind then you should hear me out (and also just look at their pictures because of how cute they are). Also, I do have some of the other two types on this list so no matter if you are a water-typer, fire-typer or grass-typer, everyone is represented here. So, without further ado let us begin this list of cuties!

Generation 1- Bulbasaur

Picture from https://www.pinterest.com/pin/246361042098864334/

Starting it off right with the little Bulb itself for the first generation. Maybe it's the color scheme or maybe it's the fact that it is seriously growing a flower out of its back, but I love this little guy. Being up against Charmander and Squirtle gives the guy some stuff competition but for me it's Bulby that always takes number 1.

Generation 2- Chikorita

Picture from https://legendsofthemultiuniverse.fandom.com/wiki/Chikorita

Poor Chikorita is one of the most hated starter Pokemon of all time, and I have no idea why. First of all, how cute are they?! They grow up to be so majestic and beautiful how could you not admire them? I also love how similar to Bulby this little guy grows their own flower. Their design is great and the cuteness helps its cause tenfold. This is an easy choice for the second generation.

Generation 3- Treecko

Picture from https://nintendo.fandom.com/wiki/Treecko

Come on guys, this is Treecko we are talking about here. He turns into Grovyle and then Sceptile! How could this not be your choice for the third generation starters? He seems to me like the OG Greninja because of his human-like qualities and how he is kind of like a little ninja. He's strong, he's got an amazing design and some awesome evolutions which make him the full package for a starter.

Generation 4- Turtwig

Picture from https://www.pinclipart.com/pindetail/iiohxwo_turtwig-turtwig-clipart-turtwig-vs-chespin-png-download/

This dude seriously grows like a full on landscape how does that not blow your mind? Another easy choice for the fourth generation in picking this twig for your starter. Super strong, super cute, and then super intimidating as it grows up. What's not to love?

Generation 5- Oshawott

Picture from https://pokemon.fandom.com/wiki/Oshawott

My reasoning for this guy is weak but hey I'm going to be honest. I only choose this little seal for the fifth generation because I believe the other two are, well, kind of ugly. They all start out cute enough but the other two are just not exactly pleasing to the eye by their final evolution. At least this one gives us a reasonable looking seal thing!

Generation 6- Froakie

Picture from https://www.hiclipart.com/search?clipart=froakie

Flat out the best choice for the sixth generation simply because his final evolution as Greninja. I'll be honest and admit that I haven't even played this generation so I have very little input on this one.

Generation 7- Litten

Picture from https://www.pinterest.com/pin/336573772133567348/

Now this one is extremely simple. I absolutely love cats and kittens. That is basically the only reason I would choose Litten for the seventh generation. I mean, it's a little fire kitten how is that not adorable and how could any cat-lover refuse? It does grow up to be kind of unpleasing to the eye but hey it's still a cat and that's a win in my book.

Generation 8- Grookey

Picture from https://www.polygon.com/pokemon-sword-shield-guide/2019/11/15/20965412/grookey-evolution-moves-levels

Look at this adorable little monkey and tell me you wouldn't pick him. Come on everyone, he literally has a stick that he uses to attack with and to make music with how awesome is that? I don't even like monkeys but this little guy made my choice for the eighth and latest generation easy as pie.

Well, there you have it! Those are all of the starter Pokemon I choose for my games. Do you agree with my choices kinda, sorta, or maybe? I would love to see what you readers would pick for yours, so maybe take the time to make your own article. It's a lot of fun and it brings back all those fond Pokemon memories.

Sincerely from my mostly grass-type-loving mind,

Kacie

list

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KacieWritten by Kacie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.