Gamers logo

I Only Used 10-Round Mags in Tarkov

It went about as you'd expect...

By JirasuPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

*This script makes a LOT more sense if you watch the video that coinsides with this script. Be sure to check it out!: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KnBx5GYWfU

I am weird sometimes when I play Tarkov. I mean, it’s a little more than sometimes with some of my decision making, but today is a special case. Occasionally, I find myself using a gun with magazines that are a... questionable choice at best. And what I am referring to specifically, are magazines that are smaller in capacity than your standard 30-round for something like an AK or M4. I don’t know why I gravitate towards these types of mags, but I think it’s a combination of the extra ergonomics you can squeeze out in addition to just using the weird options available in the game. So, today, I wanted to challenge myself and use a variety of weapons in the game and see how well I can do using the smallest available magazine for that specific weapon. The weapons will range across a variety of calibers and whatever the smallest mag size is for that gun, I will have to go into a single raid with each weapon and see if I can not only survive but take on both scavs and other players and see if I can come out on top.

The first gun I’ll be rocking is the SAG AK. A single-fire, low recoil, effective rifle where the lowest mag capacity is a measly 10 rounds. I wanted to start with a single fire weapon just to set the pace and see how well I can do with only 10 shots but having the ability to at least fire at my own rate. Don’t worry, there will be some full-auto weapons, and I made myself a rule that if a weapon has full-auto I have to be in full-auto the entire time. But without any more delay, let’s get into our first raid.

So, not a bad first attempt. In my defense, the players I was fighting were very geared and aggressive, constantly chasing me down, and keeping me moving. The biggest downside to the small mags in this situation was having to both reposition and pack mags at the same time. Little too much to maintain here, but not a bad start.

Next weapon up is the AUG, one of my personal favorite weapons this wipe. It also has a meager 10-round magazine, but with how the recoil can be sometimes, I honestly have doubts that we will see the bottom of even that mag. Either way, I have it modified in my personal favorite way, and let’s jump into the second raid and see what happens.

This one was unfortunate, because the 10-rounds were actually enough to take this player out, but I whiffed more than half the shots which ended in my death. So, this was a mistake on my end, and this raid could’ve been huge, but alas, I screwed up.

The third gun of the video is the RFB, another favorite of mine. It has somewhat become irrelevant because the M80 being locked behind PK 4, but now that I have acquired royalty with him, the option to run the gun is back on the table. And again, we are using the FAL 10-round mags. This I have the most confidence with because of how consistent M80. But who knows? Let’s jump into the nest raid.

So, that was a disaster. Didn’t really get to see the RFB in action, but if you’ve been around for a while, you know it’s good even with just 10 rounds. You can thank Reshala for the 70 second raid. Anyways...

The fourth gun is going to be the .45 Vector. I wanted to stick at least one SMG in here somewhere but was kind of torn on which one it should be. I ultimately ended up on the Vector because it has the second smallest magazine out of all the SMG’s; the Vityaz beating out the Vector by a measly 3 rounds. But I’m not using 9mm because it’s bad, so the next best thing is a .45 Vector with FMJ, or even some AP rounds. After all, it’s only 13 rounds. How bad could it be? Let’s find out.

Okay so that WAS going to be a good attempt, and actually extracting from one of these raids, but Tarkov did what it normally does best, and got me with a humble PSO using scav. So again, the ammo count hasn’t been a huge issue, but other elements in the game have been taking me out. However, we have one final weapon for this challenge. I thought about it for a while, and ultimately, I went for the VSS with its 10-round mags. I fear this might be the most difficult weapon out of all of them because the gun shoots so fast. But with the “success” of the .45 Vector and its ferocious 1100 rounds per minute, I think the VSS will do just fine.

Well... it could've been okay, but you know, typical Tarkov scavs and their ability to walk through opening or closing doors is always a sight for sore eyes. If I had a 30 or even 20-round mag there, I might’ve come out on top. But once again, 10 isn’t enough for four guards that are all clipping inside one another.

So overall, I’d say that mag size can definitely have a contributing factor on your success and survival in Tarkov. Less doesn’t always mean more, given the situation and circumstance you find yourself in. I hope you enjoyed the goofiness of me trying to fight other players with tiny mags. If you did enjoy, please be sure to subscribe to the channel for future dumb Tarkov challenges that make me mald for your entertainment, and I hope to see you in future ones.

rpgpcfirst person shooter
Like

About the Creator

Jirasu

Scripts about the things I find interesting. Most are for videos on my YouTube channel.

Check it out, if you're interested:

hhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiqQGl1HGmVKGMYD8DRaHZQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.