FYI logo

The Vocal Top Story Drug

And Maybe A Vocal Challenge Win Drug

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2023
63

Introduction

I don’t know if this is just me, with my imposter syndrome and feelings of inability and inadequacy, but maybe others may feel this as well. I also understand that people who have never had a Vocal Top Story or Challenge win or placement may see this as a red flag or bragging on my part, but it is not. I know many great creators who have not been recognised for some excellent creations, and I am not sure what to actually do about it.

My Thoughts On Top Stories

Every time I see a friend get a Vocal Top Story or place in a Vocal Challenge my heart leaps, and I am so pleased for them. It’s sort of a little official recognition. I might have read or appreciated the story but in some ways my opinion doesn't really matter, I am just part of the business as usual part of Vocal publication, and on my own that is nothing but combined with other readers I do become something.

I have never placed in a Vocal Challenge (and part of me thinks I never will) and that starts to make me think that my creations are not good enough, but when I see certain of my stories with hundreds of reads, Vocal Hearts and comments I know that my creations are actually appreciated by my friends and audience.

The thing is if I don’t get a Top Story I start to feel ignored and deflated, like I am missing out on something that I feel that I now need. In some ways this is wrong, and maybe it is just part of my personality that causes this, although before I got my first Vocal Top Story I used to wonder what I had to do to be considered for a Top Story.

Since then I will admit that I wonder why some of my Top Stories have been chosen as such while stories I believe should have been Top Stories are ignored by Vocal.

It’s Still A Surprise

If I get a Vocal Top Story it is still a pleasant surprise and while when I publish a story I may see it as worthy of a Top Story especially when I see the comments and reactions to it, but I don’t expect it to be a Vocal Top Story.

I do have confidence in my writing despite my imposter syndrome and that is backed up by the reactions and comments that I get, but I do still feel concern for the Vocal Creators who have never had a top story or a Challenge placement, but I am sure that one day it will come to them.

My Advice

Create the best creation that you can and try to love it yourself. Share it in the various Vocal Facebook groups and on any Social Media platforms where you also have a presence. Read voraciously, especially other Vocal Creators and usually they will reciprocate and read your stories.

Ask for support if you feel you need it, and as you group take advice and constructive criticism to improve your creations.

Writing should give you a sense of achievement and hopefully joy. Sometimes it is hard, sometimes it is difficult, like climbing a mountain, but if you get to the top, or even if you have tried, then that is an achievement in itself. You always have to take that first step, then another, and then before you know where you are, you are where you wanted to be, and looking for the next adventure to set out on.

Conclusion

I hope this has provided some ideas for people and told you a little more about me, and I am looking forward to all your Vocal Top Stories and Challenge Placements. I am unlikely to be with you but I will be cheering you all on.

The music I have included is "Waiting For The Man" by The Velvet Underground because there is a little of us waiting for something we want to happen.

Pop CultureHumanity
63

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Adam Stanbridgeabout a year ago

    Thanks heaps and congratulations.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Congratulations, Mike!!!💖💖💕

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Well done, so very deserving of Top Story. Sorry, I left it so long to read. You raise so many good points but that last bit of advice is how I feel. So brilliantly put. Do the best you can do. Also, great choice of song. Love that track!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Well done once again, and as we have all said in the past and will most likely say again in the future, you are a great writer, one that we all enjoy. I am one who struggles and wonders if I can get to be the writer I wish to be, I also know practice, practice, practice. Congratulations

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Congrats on another Top Story!

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Only been on here for a few months but I feel your pain. It'd be nice to get recognition but, at the same time, the challenges have made me write things I wouldn't otherwise have written. Maybe that's its own reward...($1000 would be nice though)

  • Claire Guérinabout a year ago

    I absolutely feel the same about Top Stories, beating myself up each time my new story isn't chosen by Vocal. I believe the stories that aren't chosen simply don't have the "buzz" factor, but we should try to remind ourselves that it doesn't mean anything about their quality. They're simply not eye-catchers, or don't have a title where the reader is likely to go "Oh, that concerns me" (case in point, this very article is an eye catcher, and it's a top story). Thank you for the motivating message: keep writing what you love!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Well said Mike. I know exactly what you are talking about.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Congrats Mike! A well written and relatable read!

  • Samara Simsonabout a year ago

    Writing from the heart. Congratulations on Top Stories. :)

  • Rayn Babout a year ago

    Thank you for your vulnerability in sharing this, I relate to these feelings so much

  • Totally agree with you. We just gotta keep writing what makes us happy. So much truth to what you've said!

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Just coming back to say congrats on your TOP STORY! 🥳 I guess you could say you got your fix! 😛

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    As always, your words resonate. I am always happy to see a familiar name / new friend get the accolade of a Top Story. I like your advice to put forth your best work - if Vocal deems it worthy, it'll be there. If not. we all just need to encourage each other to keep living the dream. :)

  • Brin J.about a year ago

    Thank you, Mike. Your words reach more people than you realize <3. I'm always proud to see your, or friends' names in Top Stories, too :).

  • Acknowledgment is nice absolutely with writing. That is why I value the Vocal Family so much because as we know even with friends and peers there is little support for writers. I know some of the challenges have a high competition being even 10,000 entries but I agree with you that there could be more choices. Great article.

  • Laura Merchantabout a year ago

    This. All of this.

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    Well said, Mike!

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    I think we have all struggled with a bitter feeling of disappointment when we submit a piece we are proud of, but it doesn't hit a chord with others, especially with Vocal. We all have a journey we are on, I hope a desire for recognition doesn't derail any of us 💖

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Ahh Mike congrats on top story!! You know I always enjoy your creations! I'm so happy when folks I know get recognized ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story.

  • Clyde E. Dawkinsabout a year ago

    Love that feeling of getting a Top Story! I haven't had one in over four months. This was my last one: https://vocal.media/unbalanced/yankees-are-beasts-of-the-east

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! I appreciate your honesty in this piece. It's hard not to get caught up in the attention sometimes. Thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.