FYI logo

Pranked!

Celebrating April Fool's Day

By Lamar WigginsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
13
Activerain.com

Ahh, April Fool's Day... A time for us to get clever with our devious side and freak some people out. Whatever you end up doing to just remember there is a difference between fun and cruelty. April fool's pranks are supposed to end in wacky laughter, not someone seeking revenge. For example, putting mustard in someone's shampoo bottle is funny. Putting a fake spider in someone's refrigerator is also funny, just make sure they are not deathly afraid of spiders, you don't want them to go into cardiac arrest. Letting the air out of someone's tire(s) is cruel, inconvenient and not funny at all. They will probably be late to something and may have to call a tow truck which will cost them $$$. Putting a mouse trap in their mailbox is also cruel. In my opinion, pranks aren't supposed to be painful. So put on your thinking cap before you make or break someone's day.

Techuloid.com

The most memorable prank pulled on me, well, me and my family was some years ago... My oldest sister was just 2 years married. The rest of my siblings and I, still lived at home with my mother. We were all sitting there just doing whatever when my oldest sister comes busting in the back door covered in blood and bruises. This was shocking, we didn't know what to do or what happened. Before we could even start to ask her what the hell happened, her husband came rushing in the same door with some kind of weapon in his hand yelling for her so he could finish what he started. I just closed my eyes and rushed into him to try and tackle him. I was only 17, he had to be at least 25. I knew I couldn't take him, but it didn't matter, as long as I kept him from her. Five seconds later..."APRIL FOOLS!" They both yelled out. I was breathing heavy, didn't laugh at all. It was way too soon to erase the adrenaline-filled emotions I was experiencing. All I heard was my mother say "F*ck you!" and then I laughed, we all did except my mother. She eventually smiled though. After all these years nothing has been able to top this, and I've had quite a few good pranks pulled on me and have done some good ones to other people as well. My sister's prank brought out some REAL feelings of panic that temporarily messed with our heads. I still remind her of it on occasion.

One of the most famous pranks were done by the French. They would stick a paper fish on someone's back without them knowing and yell "APRIL FISH" (Poisson d'avril). Why? I don't know, just to make someone look stupid I guess... It worked!

Annieandre.com

TRUST NO ONE!!!

Memesmonkey.com

Enjoy the following examples of real pranks pulled on the unsuspecting.

Simple and Classic! Science Rocks!!

theawesomedaily.com

I'm Intrigued... and would probably keep eating it.

theodysseyonline.com

Hmm... I smell a marketing campaign.

Hydroxydents, The cookies that will clean your teeth as you eat them. 😂

onecrazyhouse.com

All Eyes On You! I got dibs on the BBQ sauce.

saucemonster.com

Um, I don't have to go that bad.

pinterest.com

Just when I thought I would be able to pay the light bill... Cruel but funny.

strangebeaver.com

Yikes! I guess you can still sprinkle a ton of sugar on top.

flairflickers.com

One of these cups is worth a million dollars and you only get one choice. Good Luck... "Ok, after I lose this dumb game who's gonna clean this up?"

Pinterest.com

He still doesn't know why people laughed every time he took a sip of Joe.

coolshityoucanbuy.com

But I don't feel Like being healthy...Damn you!

mypinterventures.com

Well now this is just cool. I'm sure it won an Oscar for most time-consuming prank EVER! At least everything will stay fresh.

greendrier1990.blgspot.com

Okay everyone, I think we all get the picture. There is an endless number of things you can do to get someone without anyone getting hurt. Be safe! Now go get your pranks ready!

-Feel free to leave examples of good pranks in the comments or share a prank that was pulled on you. Thanks for reading.

SciencePop CultureHistorical
13

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    LMAO! 'there is a difference between fun and cruelty'- Uh oh, late advice! That was a riot Lamar, thanks for writing it.'

  • I'm sorry to be a party pooper but I hate April Fools Day 😅 All pranks pulled on me was always done in public where it caused me extreme humiliation and then the kids at school would team up and try to prank me by not wanting to be friends with me. I know I know it all sounds so dumb but it crushed my self esteem terribly. Pranks played on me were mostly disrespect in disguise. Lol, that's my story. On a lighter note, the wrapped grapes would have got me good 🤣🤣🤣

  • Fun. Nothing more to say.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    What a fun article 🤣🤣. Taking notes for tomorrow!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Funny and creative!!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Toothpaste in cookies noooooo

  • Maureen Colleran Batteyabout a year ago

    I love everything about April fools day and you just added about 10 more ideas for me to put on my list. I did not know the history. So thank you for that. What a wonderful brother you are to take down your brother-in-law like that. L0L! May I add Vaseline to the toilet seat… Funny or cruel? If you slip off may be cruel. If it’s a good moisturizer then laugh out loud?

  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    Oh, this is so great, Lamar. Wonderful to know all this history about April 1. Most of this I never heard before.....I'm going to send your article around to all the April Foolers I know. I love the prank ideas you illustrate so well here. Hope you get lots of readers. (That's no April Fools ☺️)

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Interesting prank...

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Loved this! And appreciated the image to begin the story, I didn't know of the origin of April Fool's. I am really glad you all were good sports about the prank played on you by your sister. That is one... you really got to KNOW your audience and know that type of prank is okay hahaha. Those are some great examples. The one where the person's desk is all wrapped up, we once did that to a coworker with gift wrapping. I also used to take screenshots of people's backgrounds on their work computers, hide all their shortcuts and taskbar, and make the screenshot their background, so it looked like they had access to shortcuts, but clicking them did nothing, since it was just an image. A funny prank, even when IT sometimes got involved.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.