FYI logo

Introducing Disabled & Vocal

Book in progress (yes, another one): At Home in Front of the World

By Rosie J. SargentPublished 12 days ago 5 min read
4
Image from EnableMe

This week has been one hell of a ride for disabled people in the UK. In fact, over the past decade (or probably more, let's be honest) disabled people across the globe are struggling, whether that is financially or just dealing with outright discrimination.

For me, I am sick to death of all of it. I have seen endless amounts of people refer to disabled people as 'genuinely disabled' which doesn't sit right we me at all. This idea that only some disabled people are genuinely disabled has stemmed from a preconceived image of what disabled people look and behave like based upon stereotypes rooted in ableism.

While according to these same people, that other disabled people are self-diagnosed fakers that are just lazy liars trying to fob the system. Both of which are harmful.

Need I mention how ableist terms such as retarded, spastic, handicapped (or referring to someone who is paralyzed as a vegetable), are so deeply ingrained in societies as normal and acceptable terms to refer to anyone with a disability.

Breaking News it's not: It's all ableism, and not at all appropriate to use these words to describe disabled people. Disabled person is just fine.

Stunning photo taken by Anna Shvets on Pexels

To clarify the formal definition of being disabled is:

"An individual with physical limitations."

Therefore, this includes mental health because it can cause physical limitations within daily life. For example, depression prevents people from wanting to clean up, eat well, or even eat at all, and so on. Anxiety hinders the ability to converse with friends and engagement with life.

I could spend the whole article explaining how mental health is a disability and why, but that is not what I am here to talk about.

Disabled people have faced discrimination for 3,500+ years. Something has got to give. Recently, comedian Dave Campbell took a 'funny' swipe at disabled people:

"Tonight, I'm doing all handicapped jokes. They're not as organized as the gays, and I love punching down."

His comments, whether joke or not, have rubbed me the wrong way. Yet has motivated me in other ways, which is why I have created Disabled & Vocal.

Disabled people are a vocal community. The internet has provided us that space to come together as a community, allowing us to share our experiences, differences and similarities and connect with each other.

However, on platforms like Twitter/X the risk is that anyone can start sprouting hateful narratives against disabled people because a certain tweet or statement doesn't fit their preconceived view of what disabled people are like.

I've often found that when we decide to stick up for ourselves, or defend each other, or perhaps try to educate someone on our reality, it is met with repercussions. Disabled people are increasingly faced with consequences for defending ourselves.

Once, I was labelled a bully for stating the obvious: spastic is an ableist term. I was ridiculed and hated on for calling people out on their ableism. I was completely baffled at how people thought I was wrong. Some even claimed I was 'right to have an opinion but...'

It's not my opinion. It is a fact, and denying that fact means these terms and ideologies are going unchecked and unchallenged. Allowing them to remain as they are; ableistic thinking ingrained in every aspect of society and even within disabled people themselves.

I get it, no-one wants to be labeled an ism. It's uncomfortable, awkward and probably emotionally painful, yet this is how we change, how we learn, how we grow. No-one wants to look like a bad person, it's totally understandable, but denying disabled peoples experience or attempting shut down our reality, because it doesn't fit the narrative you've been told does nothing to help us, but only serve able-bodied perspectives.

And I don't want to say to able-bodied people you should listen to us because one day it will be you or you'll grow old and then you'll understand. I need able people to accept what we say, not to challenge it. It is our reality versus your belief. Beginning with acceptance is quite literally the first step. Acceptance is one of the hardest things people can do, but my it is extremely powerful.

That's why I wanted to create Disabled & Vocal, a safe space for disabled people and allies to convene together without the fear of judgement or infiltration from a close-minded bigot whose response to disability costs is 'well get a job then.'

I invite all disabled writers of vocal to join, but I also invite all disabled people, creative or otherwise, to join the group. I want this to be the home of disability rights, voices, and stories. Where we are an organised group at home in front of the world.

I want to make it so we as a community are so loud that we cannot be ignored anymore. That we are people who deserve to be listened to and heard clearly. Any movement starts with a no. No to bigotry, no to discrimination, no to prejudice.

And this is me saying no. No more are we going to tolerate this treatment. No more will we have people dictate to us what our capabilities are and try to gaslight us. No to anyone who has never been in our shoes making decisions on behalf of us.

Just a big fat NO with a capital N.

Today marks a new day for a new opportunity. Together we will make a change that will give future disabled people a better chance in the world, one that is accessible, accommodative, and equal. A world in which we do not need to fight battles every day, a world in which we can just live as free people.

The group is open to disabled writers of vocal, disabled writers, artists and creatives alike. It is also open to carers and allies! So please, go ahead and join the group and I hope to see you there!

Read my latest article here, where I discuss welfare reform in response to Rishi Sunak's attack on 'sick note culture' (P.S they haven't been called sick notes in years, and this unelected buffoon is an idiot):

Sources:

Shout out to Maggie Scanlan for the page break!

https://www.kindpng.com/userpngs/8105/

___________________________________________________

*** Disclaimer: The views expressed in this article are based on my own experiences as a disabled person (Cerebral Palsy). ***

Thank you for taking your time to read my work. It means a lot to me, and I really appreciate every like and comment.

If you like what I do, feel free to leave a tip, show some love and don't forget to subscribe!

And as always;

Stay safe, stay hopeful and stay blessed! :)

VocalHumanity
4

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Awesome!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.