FYI logo

I will listen to my body signals and obey in the New Year

When I need more rest and or sleep I get gentle reminders. When I do not heed them they become stronger. I am determined to prevent them from been happening.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

A New Year will soon be upon us and I decided long ago to not make resolutions that I could not carry out. This year my goal is simple and it is to take blocks of time when possible in order for my body to refresh itself. I might take a nap, or sit with my feet up. I may watch a movie and make sure I do not get up during the entirety of the film. Another option is to read a book for a solid hour without being disturbed.

I have found in recent months that each of these activities relieves or prevents an issue that is unique for me but no one else in my family, It began in 1996 prior to my being diagnosed with clinical depression, anxiety, and panic attacks. I rode on a bus trip to Richmond Virginia and was miserable the entire 3 days. My upper and lower gums ached in all four corners of my mouth the entire time and taking Tylenol did no good.

By engin akyurt on Unsplash

It was not any particular tooth but an ache that resonated throughout my entire mouth at the gum line. When I told my mother and mother in law they both said I needed to get to the dentist but I had no money to do so. My grandma and mother in law both thought I had an infection but somehow I knew it was stress-related and I was correct. Shortly after I was put on muscle relaxers and did not have the problem again until each time I tried to wean myself off the prescribed medication.

My gums would ache and I would also experience pain in my left eye as if someone were pushing against it. I would be miserable for about 5 or 6 days until it passed but thankfully I no longer am on any type of prescription sedative and have kept this painful situation at bay.

By Eyestetix Studio on Unsplash

In time this distressing pain began to reveal to me what it was really about. Each time I was overstressed is when I began to notice it and would return with a vengeance. Once I sat still for a while, or lay down for a bit the pain subsided but in time, as I aged, something different began to rear its ugly head. In recent years if I don't get enough sleep or if I'm overwhelmed with cooking and cleaning for my grandchildren the following takes place.

I begin to feel as if a tight headband is around my head and as if someone is pushing my shoulders down and there will be a pain in my neck.. There will be this sensation that I need to hurry and finish whatever I am doing and sit down. This is my signal that I have done too much and as I attempt to complete the task at hand it's as if I am going in slow motion. Once I sit down to rest it takes about 10 to 15 minutes before I begin to unwind and the uncomfortable feeling will leave me.

I have learned some relaxation tools that I will be sure to implement during the new year because they work.

1. Breathe

It is automatic for me now to deep breath when presented with a stressful situation. I breathe in through my nose slowly and then hold for 4 or 5 seconds then slowly breathe out through my mouth. I do as many sets of 10 as I can until I begin to feel relaxed.

2. Count backward from 10

Sometimes when talking with people in person or on the phone it will seem as if they just will not end the conversation. I begin counting backward from 10 in my mind and continue to do so until the conversation is over.

3. Tapping

I have found that tapping my fingers against something or together is a great stress buster. I also will wiggle my toes or tap my feet a few times to destress.

By Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

The main thing I want to be sure to do in 2022 is to find time to rest each day. Whenever possible I desire to find 30 minutes to one hour blocks of time where I sit still since I know this works wonders for reducing stress. before I figured this out I would randomly take an antihistamine, a Tylenol PM, or drink a few ounces of beer in an attempt to assist my body in winding down. I now know that a cup of hot chocolate or tea is just as good when combined with breathing exercises and sitting still.

To sum all of this up I would say my simple resolution for the New Year will be mindfulness. I will be mindful of the ways my body tries to warn me of stress and take precautions so I won't have the sensation that something is tied around my head. I certainly would not like the tooth and eye pain to return. My desire is that if I cannot prevent the symptoms of stress that I can at least head them off by paying attention to what my body is conveying to me. I will turn off the lights, wrap up in a blanket and enjoy a good movie. I will take my blood pressure before and after so I will see the results of my efforts.

Humanity

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cheryl E PrestonWritten by Cheryl E Preston

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.