FYI logo

How Does Real Life Mysteriously Integrate into Our Sleep and Become Part of Our Dreams?

Was I Really Asleep?

By Debbie CentenoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Nadi Lindsay

The Mystery of Dreaming

Have you ever had a dream that is suddenly integrated with your real life? Were you awakened and realized that what you were dreaming was actually happening at that precise moment? This has occurred to me a few times. I never thought about it, but during the most recent experience, I tried to find a logical explanation for it. However, I still cannot figure it out. Let me give you an example using the actual dream I had.

It Was All A Dream, Or Was It?

A few nights ago, I dreamt I was on an Alaska cruise with my husband and two other couples. In the dream, my husband and I were walking toward the restaurants to meet up with our friends and eat breakfast. Apparently, we had arrived in Alaska. We sat at a table to wait for our friends who had not arrived for their breakfast yet. While looking around our surroundings, I saw snow-capped mountain peaks surrounding us. But when I glanced above us, I saw a huge opening in the shape of an eye in the sky. It was as if we were in a dome, something like Jim Carey’s movie The Truman Show. I did not give it much thought when suddenly I heard my husband say something about going back to the cabin. He mentioned leaving the backpack with me. I said it was okay and told him I would wait for him in the same spot we were at.

I never noticed our friends arrival, and after a while, they left. Dreams are weird, so I didn’t notice when they left either. Then I thought to check on my husband, though I did not know how to get back to the cabin. Even in dreams, I am an airhead for directions. Thank goodness for GPS'. Continuing with my dream, I walked up to an elevator and pointing to it asked an attendant at the shop next door if it would lead me to the cabins. He nodded, and I entered the elevator. Only it was not an elevator. The doors opened to a staircase going down. I walked down a few steps and realized it was wrong. Therefore, I turned around, opened the elevator doors again, and walked to the area where I was sitting before. I figured I should wait for my husband there. None of what I just wrote applies to what I’m trying to convey, but it is part of my dream.

It’s No Longer a Dream

Suddenly, I heard the buzzing of a vibrating phone. It was coming from my husband’s backpack. I opened it and saw that my husband had left his phone in the backpack and it was vibrating from an incoming call. The buzzing got louder and louder, which woke me up. Then I realized it was coming from my phone on my nightstand. This is where I struggle to understand. If my phone was vibrating in real life on my nightstand, how did it integrate with my dream as my husband’s phone buzzing in his backpack with such perfect timing?

Searching for Answers

As I mentioned before, this is not the first time it has happened, and I doubt it will be the last. I just never thought about it. I am sure this is something that happens to many people. If it has happened to you, what’s your reasoning? Maybe you can help me understand. Hmmm, now I’m wondering who was calling my husband’s phone which I did not get to answer.

Originally published on Medium on July 21, 2022

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.