Poets logo

The Real Me Inside is Sobbing

Why doesn't anyone see

By Debbie CentenoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by João Jesus

The lights are out, there is no more music

The songs we danced to are no longer there.

It is just me and my faithful companion

So why am I feeling so bare?

The real me inside is sobbing and I don’t know why.

They loved it when I danced and loved when I sang.

But when the lights go out,

the music stops,

and there’s no one around to hang.

The real me inside is sobbing and I don’t know why.

No one to help me face the challenges

I hide behind for no one to know.

The thoughts, the fears, the cries,

the somber feeling of being alone.

The real me inside is sobbing and I don’t know why.

I look in the mirror and don’t see myself,

But a façade of one that wants to be.

The tear-stained face of a woman imploring

to let her lose the mask.

The real me inside is sobbing and I don’t know why.

I hear the whispers; I see the shadows,

I am convinced it is for real.

I feel their thoughts, their needs, their peace.

But no one seems to believe.

The real me inside is sobbing and I don’t know why.

I need to run out; I need to escape.

To gather my thoughts, let go of my fear, and engage.

It is my destiny. There’s no denying.

What a spiritual journey I’ve been through.

The real me inside is sobbing and I don’t know why.

But if you listen and just acknowledge

What I am about to tell you,

You’ll believe that I’m not lying.

For me, it’ll be a breakthrough.

The real me inside is sobbing but I am finally free.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.