FYI logo

Dancing With Myself

More Fallout From The New Vocal Homepage

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 days ago 3 min read
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

Vocal allows us to subscribe to ourselves and heart our own stories (it means that my stories get at least one heart 🌞🌝) so I do that. It is useful to see how prolific I am against other creators I subscribe to.

The music, appropriately, is "Dancing With Myself" by Fingerprintz

Image by b0red from Pixabay

So What Else Do I Have An Issue With

If I were to put the pros and cons of Vocal on a scale (I am a Libra) the scale would come crashing down in favour of the pros, which means I am comfortable calling out Vocal on the cons, and they do need continually caling out on the cons, and I have done so many times in the past (though they never respond, apart from "we're working on it" or "it's on the roadmap" and we all know what that means).

Vocal never told us that the new Home Page was coming, it came and they gave themselves this Top Story to tell us (I wonder if Vocal gives themselves $5 for these stories, a bit of a cheat if they do)

Anyway, the Home Page was just Top Stories and the first time I went on the new Home Page I saw my latest story and thought "Wow, A Top Story after five minutes, that must be a record", then I realised that something was wrong. This was just my subscriptions, once again.

Then another Creator congratulated me on a Top Story, but it was just that it had appeared in the feed on their new Hom Page because they are subscribed to me. That made me think I had got a top Story, but then I realised what had happened so that brought me down, and the other Creator was surprised that the new Home Page had caused them to make a mistake.

I have five places I can see my subscriptions on the Home Page, but the reality is that I only need one, or two at most.

I still hate that the Home page is taken over by my subscriptions.

The Saved stories may be useful, but as yet mine is empty, because I read stories when I see them and they catch my eye. I can see it might be good, but I hope that saving a story does not count as an initial unpaid read, meaning that the Creator of the piece doesn't get their 0.6c when the reader comes back to give it a real read.

We will get used to it, we don't have any choice. Vocal has implemented it, and now they will hopefully turn their attention to fixing some faults, but it will probably be a new way of putting subscribed creators onto the Home Page (that is a joke).

I am still using my Subscription Feed, which is excellent, and I love the "Stories I Liked" feature which I use when I want to share stories in Vocal Social Society Features such as this one:

Conclusion

Vocal does have faults but it is the best platform to share our work and engage with other creators.

I love that the Challenges are more often, with smaller prizes. When you are hoping for a ten thousand dollar prize and you don't win, it can be soul-destroying, but if you miss out on a five hundred dollar prize it is nowhere near as upsetting. The Challenges provide me with prompts for stories and I am thankful for that.

So this is me signing off, trying to come to terms with the new Vocal Home Page.

Thank you so much for reading, I really appreciate it.

Pop CultureVocalHumanity

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Rasma Raisters4 days ago

    I figure if I just keep trying Challenges perhaps one day I will succeed in winning, Meantime I love to write on VM and enjoy the Vocal page on FB,

  • Kodah5 days ago

    I'm with you on this Mike! Thanks for this!!

  • "Roadmap is just an euphemism for rubbish bin" – Mike Singleton, 2024 I too subscribe to myself and I'm the first one to heart my stories hahahahhahaa. I also don't like the fact that Top Stories have now become Bottom Stories 😫😫😫😫😫😫

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    Always a bit of adapting to do. Not sure what I'm feeling about it yet.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 days ago

    I also got congratulated on a Top Story by mistake, I bet that was what it was!

  • Carol Townend5 days ago

    I wouldn't stop writing here, even if there are a few issues. The one grudge I do have is that I have been writing here for years, and Vocal never lets me win a challenge, so I'm going to ask a daring question. I love you Vocal, but when is it my turn???

  • Sweileh 8885 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

  • Judey Kalchik 5 days ago

    Change is hard

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.